Full text of "History of the Scott family"

HISTORY

 

OF THE

 

SCOTT FAMILY

 

 

 

BY

 

HENRY LEE

 

 

 

NEW YORK

 

R. L. POLK AND COMPANY, INC.

 

 

 

Copyright 1919

R. L. POLK & Co. Inc.

 

 

 

TABLE OF CONTENTS:

 

 

 

Chapter I 7

 

Origin of the name of Scott Early History Buc-

cleuch "The Buck in the Cleuch" Auld Wat o' Har-

den Sir Michael Scott The Wizard of the North.

 

Chapter II 20

 

The Cradle of the Race The Family and the Border

Feuds "Ready, aye, Ready" Sir John Scott of

Thirlestane "Mount for Branxholm."

 

Chapter III 30

 

Branches of the Scott Family Records of the

Different Branches Lord Chancellor Eldon and

Baron Stowell Sir Walter Scott.

 

Chapter IV 46

 

Early American History of the Family Arrival of

the First Scotts in America Story of the Early

Settlers Three Adventurers for Virginia Richard

Scott Lands at Boston Scott of Long Island.

 

Chapter V 56

 

The Scotts in Revolutionary Times From the Revo-

lution to the Civil War Civil War Records.

 

Chapter VI 74

 

The Scott Family in the United States.

 

Chapter VII 97

 

Lines of Descent in Scotland and England Heads

of the Family Notable Scotts in the British Empire.

 

Chapter VIII 112

 

Armorial Bearings Ancestral Seats.

 

 

 

 

PREFACE

 

LL races of men seem to have an intuitive

feeling that it is a subject of legitimate

pride to be one of a clan or family whose

name is written large in past history and

present affairs. Everybody likes to know something:

about his forefathers, and to be able to tell to his chil-

dren the tales or stories about their ancestors, which

he himself has heard from his parents. The command-

ment, "Honor thy father and thy mother," is good

and sufficient authority for that feeling of reverence

which is so generally shown towards a line of

honorable ancestry. The history of the family was

a matter of much importance to the Greek and

Roman; the Chinese go so far as to magnify such

reverence into ancestor worship and even the Red

Indian of our own Northwest recorded the tradi-

tions of his ancestors on the totem of his tribe.

Well, then, may the story of the chivalry, courage

and even lawlessness (so often the mate of cour-

age) of their forefathers find a responsive echo

in the hearts of Scotts of the present generation.

It is not intended in this "History of the Scott

Family" to attempt any genealogical investigation

or show any family tree, but rather to tell of those

bygone Scotts in whose achievements and history

it is the common heritage of all who bear the name

to take pride and interest old stories of Scotts

of reckless bravery, of Scotts who were good and

true friends and of Scotts who were fierce and

 

5

 

 

 

6 History of the Scott Family

 

bitter enemies stories of Scotts who fought hard,

lived hard and died as they fought and lived. Those

olden days may seem a time of scant respect for

law, of misdirected chivalry and of brave deeds,

often wrongly done, but there is surely no true

Scott who, in his inmost heart, is not proud to

claim descent from a family whose ancient records

are replete with such traditions ; whose later records

tell of those early adventurers who left their native

hills and dales for the new land of promise and

whose descendants have, in more prosaic times,

earned honors in literature, arms and art. "It is

wise for us to recur to the history of our ancestors.

Those who do not look upon themselves as links

connecting the past with the future do not fulfill

their duty in the world."

 

 

 

 

CHAPTER I.

 

HE surname Scott is of great antiquity

and authorities differ as to the origin

of the name. The theory of Professor

Innes, in relation to the original name

of Scot or Scott in Scotland, was that long before

surnames were known, the people of that country

received the appellation of Scotus or Scot in addi-

tion to their former name, thus plain Robert became

Robert Scot and reared a family who retained the

name of their ancestor. This especially may have

been so with those who wandered from Scotland into

other countries, and who became known as Robert

the Scot, David Scotus as the case might be.

 

Other historians claim that the name of Scot-

land itself was derived from the family name; in

fact, claim that a family of primitive gypsies gave

a name to the country in which it located instead

of a country giving a surname to divers wanderers

from its borders.

 

In support of this theory Boethius, Vermundus,

Cornelius and Scaliger claim that the name of Scott

originated from Scota, the daughter of the Pharaoh

who was drowned in the Red Sea. The story told

in support of this origin of the name follows : Ga-

thelus, a son of Cecrops, King of Athens, being ban-

ished from that kingdom, fled to Egypt with a large

band of followers. This was in the time of Moses,

and Pharaoh being engaged in war was glad to

 

7

 

 

 

8 History of the Scott Family

 

accept the aid of the followers of Gathelus, whom he

made a general of the combined forces. The enemy

nations were subdued and as a reward Pharaoh

gave his daughter Scota in marriage to the vic-

torious Gathelus. Later Gathelus and Scota, with

a goodly following, escaping from the plagues in

Egypt, fled to Spain, naming that portion of the

country Port Gathale which is now known as Portu-

gal. Here Gathelus gave to his followers the name

of "Scottis" from the love he bore his wife Scota.

After years of war with the natives of Spain these

nomad "Scottis" once more set sail and landed in

Ireland, from whence they afterwards went over to

the northern part of the adjacent island of Britain,

naming the country Scotland or the land of the

Scottis.

 

This theory of the origin of the name is treated

by many historians as fabulous, but Geoffrey Keat-

ing, the Irish antiquary, claims that the followers of

Gathelus and Scota landed in Ireland A. M. 2736 (B.

C. 1303) ; and a number of ancient antiquaries and

historians agree that the name of Scott is derived

from the Egyptian Scota. An interesting point in

this connection is the entry found in the Psalter of

Cashel as follows: Heber Scot, son of Seru, son

of Easru, son of Gadelas, son of Niul, son of Feniusa-

Farsa, son of Baath, son of Magog, son of Japhet.

The name of Scot within seven generations of the

Flood!

 

Among the very early records of persons bearing

the name are those relating to two natives of Scot-

land named John and Clement, who are mentioned

as being in Paris in the time of Charlemagne. Al-

though no authority is found enabling the exact

 

 

 

History of the Scott Family 9

 

date to be established, the fact that John or Johannes

was an instructor of Charlemagne fixes the time

about the middle of the eighth century. Scott of

Sachells, a worthy son of the border, writing in

1686 his lengthy and poetical defence of the clan,

relates the following as to John and Clement:

 

"A thousand years if I do not forget

 

By chronicles I'll prove the name of Scot.

 

In King Achaius time, that worthy prince,

 

John and Clement Scots they went to France;

 

In Paris they at first began,

 

In Charles the Great his time

 

To instruct the Christian religion."

 

And Buchanan, in his History of Scotland, confirms

the historical facts of Sachells, and asserts that

Charles the Great of France sent to Scotland for some

learned and pious men "among whom was Johannes

surnamed Scotus." Buchanan also mentions him

as the instructor of Charlemagne and Clement as a

learned professor in Paris at that time.

 

The first occurrence of the name of Scott in writ-

ings now preserved seems to be "Uchtred Filius

Scoti" among the witnesses to a charter to the Ab-

bacy of Selkirk, granted by David I who was on the

throne of Scotland from 1124 to 1153. Uchtred had

one son, Richard, who was the father of two sons,

Richard the elder being the ancestor of the Buc-

cleuch family and from the younger son, Sir Michael,

the Scotts of Balwearie are descended. Following

the line of descent of Richard, the elder son, we

find Sir Richard who acquired the estates of Mur-

dieston by marriage with the heiress in 1296 and

who died in 1320. His son Michael had two sons,

Robert and Walter of Synton. The latter was the

 

 

 

10 History of the Scott Family

 

ancestor of the Scotts of Harden of whom more will

be told later. Robert's great-grandson Sir Walter

was the father of two sons, Sir David of Branxholm

and Alexander of Howpaisley. From the younger

son was descended Francis of Thirlestane who was

created a Baronet in 1666 and was the father of

Sir William the second Baronet. Sir William, on

his marriage with the Mistress of Napier assumed

that name and from him is descended the present

representative, Francis Edward Basil Baron Napier

and Ettrick of Thirlestane, Selkirk. Sir David

Branxholm, the elder son of Sir Walter, had two

sons, David, whose great-great-grandson Sir Walter

was created Baron Scott of Buccleuch in 1606 and

Robert, ancestor of the Scotts of Scotstarvit.

 

Tradition gives the following romantic origin of

the name Buccleuch, which name had, long prior

to the creation of the title, been closely associated

with the name of Scott. Two brothers, banished

from Galloway, came to Ettrick Forest where they

were gladly received by Brydone, the keeper of

the forest, on account of their skill in forestry

and the chase; the hunting horn formerly borne in

the field of the Buccleuch arms alluding to this fact.

Kenneth MacAlpine, King of Scotland (844-860),

coming to hunt in Ettrick Forest and pursuing a

buck from Ettrick Heugh to a glen, afterwards

known as Buckscleugh, found the stag at bay. The

King and his companions of the chase following on

horseback were thrown out by the steepness of the

hill, and John, one of the Galloway brothers, follow-

ing the stag on foot, seized the buck by the horns,

threw him on his back and carrying him up the

hill, laid the buck at the feet of the King. This

 

 

 

History of the Scott Family 11

 

incident is told in Watt's Bellenden, after describing

the killing and "curee'ing" of the deer:

 

"The King did wash into a dish

And Galloway John he wot;

He said "Thy name now after this

Shall ever be called John Scott."

 

* * * *

 

"And for the buck thou stoutly brought

To us up that steep heugh

Thy designation ever shall

Be John Scott in Buckscleugh."

 

Their name and style the book doth say

John gained them both into one day."

 

The first Baron Scott of Buccleuch died 1611, be-

ing succeeded by his son Walter, whose title was

raised to Earl of Buccleuch in 1619. He was fol-

lowed by his son Francis, referred to by Sir Walter

Scott in "The Lay of the Last Minstrel" as "The Good

Earl Francis dead and gone." His death occurred in

1651, leaving two daughters, Mary and Anne. Mary,

Countess of Buccleuch, married Walter Scott of

Highchester, a scion of the house of Harden, who

was granted the life title of Earl of Tarras. Mary

died without issue and was succeeded in the title

by her sister Anne, Countess of Buccleuch. Anne

had been brought up in the massive square tower on

the banks of the Yarrow known as Newark Castle,

which was chosen by Sir Walter Scott as the "stately

tower" wherein the wandering harper recited to her

the story told in "The Lay of the Last MinstreL"

Anne married James, Duke of Monmouth, natural

son of Charles II and on their marriage they were

created Duke and Duchess of Buccleuch. The Duke

 

 

 

12 History of the Scott Family

 

of Monmouth was beheaded in 1685. He had two

sons, James, Earl of Dalkeith, and Henry, who in

1706 was created Earl of Deloraine. The title Delo-

raine came from the lands of Deloraine which

marched with those of Buccleuch in Ettrick Forest

and had from time immemorial been in possession

of the Scotts of Buccleuch, and granted by them to

kinsmen for Border services rendered. Among such

kinsmen was William of Deloraine, "Good knight and

true of noble strain" between whom and Richard of

Musgrave was arranged the trial by single combat

at Branksome. The Earldom of Deloraine became

extinct on the death of the fourth Earl in 1807.

 

James, Earl of Dalkeith, the above named son

of the Duke of Monmouth and Anne, Countess of

Buccleuch, having died in the lifetime of his father,

his son Francis became the second Duke of Buc-

cleuch. Henry, the grandson of Francis, followed

as third Duke and succeeded also to the Dukedom

of Queensberry. He had two sons, Charles the

elder and fourth Duke, and Henry, who became

by succession Baron Montagu, whose line is now

represented by Baron Montagu of Beaulieu. The

grandson of Duke Charles was William, sixth Duke

of Buccleuch, who died in 1914 and was succeeded

by his son John Charles, the present and seventh

Duke.

 

To return to Walter Scott of Synton previously

mentioned as ancestor of the Scotts of Harden. This

family, however, trace their descent from a still

earlier younger of a Scott, who, prior to the mar-

riage of Sir Richard with the heiress of Murdieston,

was a laird of Buccleuch. Hence they bear the

cognizance of the Scotts upon the field :

 

 

 

History of the Scott Family 13

 

"Azure in a golden field

 

The Stars and crescent graced his shield

 

Without the bend of Murdieston."

 

Whereas, those of the Buccleuch family are dis-

posed upon a bend dexter assumed in consequence

of the Murdieston marriage. Walter of Synton was

the ancestor of Walter of Harden, a celebrated bor-

der reiver during the time of Queen Mary and re-

nowned in Border tradition as "Auld Wat," who

succeeded his father as Laird of Harden in 1563. He

married the beautiful Mary Scott of Dryhope, known

as "The Flower of Yarrow," a condition of the mar-

riage being, that for a year and a day after mar-

riage, the bride's father was bound to provide for

Wat at the Tower of Dryhope ; Harden on his part

agreeing to give Dryhope the profits of the "first

Michaelmas moon." His castle upon the brink of

a dark and precipitous glen was the storehouse

of the fruits of many a raid across the border,

the spoil from which served for the maintenance of

a large body of followers. Auld Wat has himself

left record that the Flower of Yarrow was "a curi-

ous hand at pickling the beef he stole;" and the

service of a pair of clean spurs on the usually well-

provided platter was notice to his retainers that the

time had again arrived to sally forth a-reiving. The

story is told that on one occasion the live stock had

become so low as to be referred to, in Wat's hearing,

as "Harden's coo." "By my faith," said Wat

"they'll soon say Harden's kye."

 

"The Michaelmas moon had entered then

 

And ere she wan the full

Ye might see by her light in Harden's glen

 

A bow of kye and a bassened bull."

 

 

 

14 History of the Scott Family

 

Auld Wat had a keen eye for business. When five

of his stalwart sons flew to arms to avenge the

death of a brother, slain in a fray by the Scotts

of Gilmanscleugh, Auld Wat locked them in the

dungeon of his castle, hastened to Edinburgh,

where he stated his case, and obtained the lands of

Gilmanscleugh as compensation. He returned to

Harden with the charter, releasing his sons with an

order "To horse, lads, and let's take possession.

The lands of Gilmanscleugh are well worth a dead

son."

 

William, Wat's eldest son, apparently followed in

the f oosteps of his father, for he was captured "lift-

ing" the cattle of Murray of Elibank and condemned

to be hanged on the Elibank gallows tree, an ap-

panage of every well-equipped border stronghold.

It happened, however, that the house of Elibank in-

cluded a marriageable daughter, Agnes, who re-

joiced, or otherwise, in the descriptive name of

"Muckle-Mouthed Meg." William was given the

choice between the gallows tree and a wife and chose

what seemed to him the lesser evil, securing his life

and liberty by a marriage with Meg. Another and

more romantic version of William's marriage tells of

his refusal to wed the unseen Muckle-Mouthed Meg

as an alternative to hanging and of how Meg, posing

as the gaoler's daughter whose duty it was, each

morning, to take the prisoner his can of porridge,

won the bold reiver's heart. Browning records that

William, while actually under the gallows tree, ob-

stinately refusing marriage with Meg, is answered

by the supposed gaoler's daughter:

 

' "Not Muckle-Mouthed Meg! Wow the obstinate

Perhaps he would rather wed me !"

 

 

 

History of the Scott Family 15

 

"Ay would he with just for a dowry your can!"

"I'm Muckled-Mouthed Meg," chirruped she.'

 

They had five sons, Sir Walter Scott, the author,

being descended from their third son, Walter of

Raeburn, who, not to be outdone by others in the

family, had a descriptive name, "Watty Wudspurs."

The Scotts of Raeburn are also descended from

Watty.

 

The eldest son of William and Meg, also named

William, died without issue; the second son, Sir

Gideon, was the father of Walter, Earl of Tarras,

who, as before mentioned, married Mary, Countess

of Buccleuch and whose great-grandson by a second

marriage, Hugh, succeeded to the Barony of Pol-

warth.

 

To return to Sir Michael, the second son of

Richard, and grandson of Uchtred Filius Scoti. This

Sir Michael was the great-grandfather of that most

remarkable character, Sir Michael Scott, the wizard,

who was born during the reign of William the Lion,

King of Scotland 1165-1214. His birthplace is un-

certain, but was probably in upper Tweeddale, the

cradle of the Scott family. After attending the

Cathedral School at Durham and studying at Oxford

he took Holy Orders in Paris; thence he went to

the famous law school at Bologna and later to

Palermo, where he was appointed tutor to Prince

Frederick, afterward the Emperor Frederick II.

After studying alchemy, astrology and chiromancy

in Spain, Sir Michael returned to Palermo as Court

Astrologer. According to tradition it was about

this time that "the Veil of the future seemed to be

lifted" to him and he foretold many direful happen-

ings. His fame spread as a skilful magician, and

 

 

 

16 History of the Scott Family

 

Dante in the "Inferno" refers to him as "Michele

Scotto," a renowned wizard. In 1230, he returned

to Scotland, his skill in the black arts having pre-

ceded him and it being generally accepted that he

had sold his soul to the Devil. It is told of Sir

Michael that he evoked a fiend in the shape of a

black horse on which he flew through the air. On

this demon horse he flew to Paris on an embassy

to obtain certain concessions from the Bang of

France, who received him coldly and was about to

deny his request, when Michael besought him to

delay such refusal until he had seen the horse stamp

three times. The first stamp caused the bells to

ring in every steeple; the second shook the palace

so violently that three towers fell in ruins and to

avoid a third stamp the King agreed to all Sir

Michael's terms.

 

Sir Michael took up his abode at Oakwood Tower,

upon the River Ettrick, where he soon learned of

the fame of a neighboring sorceress, known as the

Witch of Falsehope, living on the other side of the

Ettrick. Michael resolved to put her powers of

witchcraft to the test and riding to Falsehope en-

tered her house alone, leaving his servant and grey-

hounds on the threshold. The reputed witch stead-

fastly denied any knowledge of necromancy. While

talking with her, Sir Michael had carelessly laid his

wand on the table ; the witch snatched up the wand

and struck Sir Michael with it, instantly changing

his external appearance to that of a hare. Sir

Michael's servant, waiting without, observing the

hare scurrying from the house, at once slipped

the greyhounds who pursued him so closely to

the Tower of Oakwood that the wizard was com-

 

 

 

History of the Scott Family 17

 

pelled to take ground in a culvert, where he gained

time to reverse the charm and return of his own

form.

 

This could not pass unavenged and accordingly

Sir Michael, with his servant and dogs, rode to a

hill above Falsehope, from whence he dispatched

his servant to the Witch, requesting food for the

dogs; at the same time giving full instructions as

to the course to pursue if such request were refused.

It being harvest the old woman was baking bread

for the harvesters and returned an angry refusal

to the servant, who, thereupon, following his mas-

ter's orders, affixed above the door a paper with many

cabalistic signs and the following rhyme:

 

"Maister Michael Scott's man

Sought meat and gat nane."

 

The magic worked instantly and the woman began

to dance madly round and round the fire, repeating:

 

"Maister Michael Scott's man

Sought meat and gat nane."

 

She was powerless to stop and the dance con-

tinued until the husband dispatched the harvesters,

one after another, to ascertain what had delayed his

wife sending the mid-day meal to the harvest-field.

Each messenger, as he entered the house, fell victim

to the charm and joined in the dance and song.

Round and round the fire the wife and the harvesters

danced, unceasingly chanting the rhyme. The old

man himself at last came, but remembering the trick

his wife had served Sir Michael, and becoming sus-

picious, cautiously looked through the window be-

fore entering the house. Seeing the madly dancing

 

 

 

18 History of the Scott Family

 

company and gathering from the words of the

chant the author of the charm, he hastened to the

Wizard, humbly begging a cessation of the spell.

This Sir Michael good naturedly granted, at the

same time giving the old man directions to return

to his home and break the spell by entering the

house backwards and taking the paper from over

the door with his left hand. On this being done,

the spell ceased and the dance ended.

 

The soul of Sir Michael having, according to pop-

ular belief, been sold to the Devil, the time arrived

when Satan at last came to claim his own. The

Wizard, however, insisted that by the terms of the

bargain three things were to be done before the

bond be paid. Of these three works two appear to

have been performed. First a cauld to be made

across the rapid tumbling waters of the Tweed, and

the cauld, still to be seen, at Kelso Mill attests the

enduring quality of His Satanic Majesty's handi-

work. Secondly Eildon Hill to be rent in three;

"Eildon's triple height" remains, to-day, a testi-

mony. But the third to weave ropes of the sea

sand at the mouth of Tweed seems yet unaccom-

plished; Tweedmouth's ever shifting sands being

evidence of the yet uncompleted work of the powers

of darkness.

 

It remains to tell of the death and place of burial

of the Wizard, concerning both of which tradition

varies. One version of his end tells how his wife,

or mistress, having treacherously learned that his

magic could ward off all danger save that of the

poison of a broth made of the flesh of a "breme" sow,

administered such a broth to Sir Michael who died

after eating it. Another version is that "the veil

 

 

 

History of the Scott Family 19

 

of the future" having been lifted to him, he could

foretell that his death would be caused by the fall

of a stone. To avert such an end, it is told that he

wore constantly a steel helmet; but in vain, for being

at Mass and raising his helmet on the elevation of

the Host a stone fell from the roof, killing him as

he knelt.

 

His place of burial is by some claimed to be at

Holme Cultram in Cumberland ; while others, includ-

ing Sir Walter Scott, claim that his grave is in the

transept of Melrose Abbey.

 

The first name of Scott to be found in English

history is that of John Scott, who was Earl of

Chester, born 1206. Other early instances of the

name in England are those of Sir Peter Scott, first

Mayor of Newcastle and Sir Nicholas Scott, his son.

Also Thomas Scott, afterwards Archbishop of York,

born 1424 at Rotherham or Rotheram, Yorkshire, the

name of Rotheram being assumed by him in place

of his family name. He was Master of Pembroke

College, Cambridge, also Chancellor of the Uni-

versity and was successively Bishop of Rochester,

Bishop of Lincoln and Archbishop of York. He re-

ceived the red hat from the Pope with the title of

Cardinal Ste. Ceciliae. He became Lord Chancellor

of England in 1475, being known as Lord Chancel-

lor Rotheram. He founded Lincoln College, Oxford,

and died of the plague in the year 1500.

 

 

 

 

CHAPTER II.

 

ROM the sands of Solway to the mouth of

Tweed, stretches that land of minstrelsy

and romantic story, the borders of Scot-

land. A land of far flung hills and swift

and rocky streams, of purple heather and of lonely

wastes where even today the silence of the tarn and

the moorland is broken only by the cry of the wild

fowl or the bleat of the black faced sheep. Within

this border land, in wood girt tower and crag

bound reiver stronghold, flanked by the ravines of

Teviot and Tweed, of Ettrick and Yarrow,

 

"A hardy race who never shrank from war

The Scott, to rival realms a bar,

Here fixed his mountain home."

 

Between the Cheviots and the Lammermuirs lay

a thickly wooded country with cleugh and den closed

by precipitous cliffs, on whose rocky crests the

early Scotts built their peel towers and castles.

Here we find the Lairds of Branxholm holding a land

of hill and dale and many waters between Yarrow

and Teviot, upon a steep bank of the latter, partly

surrounded by the stream, being the House of

Branxholm. Another Scott held the wild lands of

Harden.

 

"But what the niggard ground of wealth denied

From fields more bless'd his fearless arms supplied."

 

Two miles from the meeting of Borthwick burn

and Teviot, stands the House of Harden, on the

 

20

 

 

 

History of the Scott Family 21

 

brink of the deep and thickly wooded den from

which the name is taken. From Harden the Scott

country rises to the lands of Deloraine and Head-

shaw, while in the hills, above the junction of the

Clear burn and the Rankel burn is the old Tower

of Buccleuch, near the "cleuch" where, as already

told, the "buck was ta'en." Through the Ettrick

Forest and higher up on Ettrick stands Thirlestane,

another stronghold of the Scotts.

 

Such were some of the border fastnesses from

which the Scotts of old sallied forth across the

border to harry their English neighbors. On the

English side, in Cumberland and Northumberland,

we find the strongholds of the Dacres, Howards,

Grahams and Percys; the border castles of Na-

worth, Carlisle, Norham, Bamborough and Alnwick

being some of the stately seats which, today, re-

main a testimony to the respect paid by their build-

ers to the fighting qualities of the Scotts and like

unwelcome visitors from over the border. For cen-

turies the Scot or the Englishman whose lot was

cast within marching or riding distance of the

border was born a natural enemy to his neighbor

on the other side of the Cheviots, Liddell or Esk.

Border raids were the order of the day and no

greater security was found for kye or steer on

one side of the border than on the other. Scot

raided England and Englishman raided Scotland,

each doubtless feeling assured that he was fulfill-

ing a patriotic duty in despoiling those who would

not only as readily despoil him, but, at the same

time, were enemies of his country and legitimate

prey. Withal, the reckless, law-defying moss-trooper

and reiver was a brave, loyal and fair fighter. His

code of morality was,

 

 

 

22 History of the Scott Family

 

"The good old rule, the simple plan,

That they should take who had the powei

And they should keep who can."

 

and no disgrace or shame could, in his mind, attach

to a successful raid, well carried out in accordance

with the tenets of the border. We have told how

the spurs on an empty platter gave warning of

the empty larder of the Flower of Yarrow. No

whit behind were the ladies on the English side;

a naked sword lain on the table being the usual

intimation from the good wives of Cumberland that

a new supply of Scottish beef or Cheviot mutton

would be of material assistance in reducing the

medieval equivalent of the high cost of living.

 

Fierce and bloody was the fighting usually ac-

companying these border raids, and many a Scott

paid the penalty in fair fight, or said his neck verse

on Harraby Hill or the old oak which still over-

hangs Naworth's moat. Notwithstanding this al-

most constant state of warfare the men on either

side do not appear to have regarded each other

with that personal enmity which might have been

looked for. Friendly intercourse was frequent after

the most bitter fighting, and Froissart says that

"Englishmen on the one party and Scottes on the

other party, are good men of warre ; for when they

meet there is a harde fight without sparynge" but

that "whan they be well beaten and that the one

party hath obtained the victory, they then glorifye

so in their dedes of armes, and are so joyfull, that

such as be taken they shall be ransomed, or that

they go out of the fielde; so that shortly eche of

them is so content with other, that, at their de-

partynge, curtyslye they will say, God thank you."

 

 

 

History of the Scott Family 23

 

Unfortunately the lives thus lost at the hands of

their hereditary enemies were not the only toll taken

by these troublous times. Bloodshed was frequent

in the fighting with which the Scotts and other

border clans occupied the rare intervals of peace.

Remorseless feuds sprung from jealousies aroused

when one clan would be thought to be attaining too

much power, or arose from quarrels and insults

only to be wiped out by the death of the offender.

To avenge such a death was a matter of honor

with the Scott family, all border clans being alike

in their punctilious respect to the lex talionis. Of

such a nature was the feud between the House of

Scott and the House of Ker of Cessford. It is

not known how the feud between the two clans arose,

but the enmity of the Scotts and Kers had long

been smoldering, when in 1526, during a Justice

Court held at Jedburgh, the boy King, James V,

secretly wrote to Sir Walter Scott, "Wicked Wat

of Branxholm," bidding Sir Walter gather the

Scotts at Melrose to free him from the power of

Douglas, Earl of Angus, who had wed his widowed

mother. From Jedburgh the King rode to Melrose,

where, shortly after the escort of Kers and Howes

had taken their leave, the Scotts under Sir Walter

arrived a thousand strong. A fierce battle with

Douglas and his men was ended by the unexpected

appearance on the field of the returned Kers and

Howes; the Laird of Buccleuch and his force being

compelled to flee, "followed furiouslie" by the Kers.

At a rock, to this day known by the name of 'Turn

Again," Buccleuch's men rallied, and here Ker of

Cessford was slain and the chase seems to have

ceased. But in consequence of this battle there

 

 

 

24 History of the Scott Family

 

-ensued a deadly feud between the names of Scott

and Ker, which raged for many years upon the

borders. In the year 1535 we find Sir Walter im-

prisoned for levying war upon the Kers, and in

1552 the Kers carried "the furies of the border

var" to the streets of Edinburgh itself, where, in

the High Street, old Sir Walter was set upon by

a band of Kers and foully murdered. Quoting from

the words of another Sir Walter:

 

"When the streets of high Dunedin,

Saw lances gleam and falchions redden,

And heard the slogan's deadly yell;

Then the chief of Branksome fell."

 

 

 

"While Cessford owns the rule of Carr,

While Ettrick boasts the line of Scott;

The slaughtered chiefs, the mortal jar,

The havoc of the feudal war;

Shall never, never be forgot."

 

Many a Scott and many a Ker paid with their

lives for the deaths of Ker of Cessford and Scott

of Buccleuch before the feud was ended; for even

this fierce feud had an end and the time came

-when as told in Birch's Memorials "The fear of

the general trouble had reconciled them, and the

injuries which they thought to have committed

against each other were now transferred upon Eng-

land," and each clan "undertook more hazardous en-

terprises against the enemy than they would have

done if they had been at concord together."

 

Other feuds of the Scotts included that with the

Elliot clan, in consequence of the death of a Scott,

slain by an Elliot in 1564. Vindictively and furi-

ously was this quarrel pursued, the Scotts avenging

 

 

 

History of the Scott Family 25

 

the death upon the Elliots, and the Elliots returning

blow for blow. However, as in the case of the

Cessford feud, the common cause against their

neighbors on the English side of the border seems

to have had the effect of a peace-maker, for in 1601

the Warden of the Marches makes complaint that

"the Scotts and Elliots have again been spoiling

the Grahams."

 

"All is dishonorabell quhair there is not eie for

eie and tuith for tuith," said Alexander Napier,

referring to another feud. In 1600, Scott of Bow-

hill was told by Archibald Napier of Merchiston

that one of his horses had been stolen. Presumably

the cap fitted, for Bowhill at once drew his sword

and called on young Napier to fight. The latter,

intending no insult, and surprised at the anger

of his friend, endeavored to avoid a meeting, but

was eventually compelled to fight the duel forced

upon him. Scott was slain and to avenge his death,

his brothers, and other Scotts, waylaid Napier near

Edinburgh and murdered him. The property of

the slayers was declared forfeit as rebels, until

Scott of Buccleuch, the chief of their clan, pro-

posed that they obtain pardon by payment to the

Napier family of One thousand pounds as compensa-

tion for the murder. This matter of a price for

the slaughter of a friend caused Alexander Napier

to express his opinion as above. Later in 1699,

William Scott of Thirlestane married Margaret,

Baroness Napier of Merchiston, and the present

Lord Napier and Ettrick takes descent from the

two families.

 

The quarrel between the Scotts and the Charltons

of Tynedale, in Northumberland, may also more

 

 

 

26 History of the Scott Family

 

properly be reckoned a feud, rather than ordinary

border warfare. This vendetta of Buceleuch's,

which lasted through several generations, appears

to have had its origin from the fact that "long

synce in warr tyme they took awaye his grand-

father's shworde and wold never lett him have itt

synce." And they never did ; the "shworde" remains

at Hesleyside in North Tynedale.

 

Sir John Scott of Thirlestane, an ancestor of

William Scott who married the Baroness Napier,

was granted arms and motto, as a pledge and token

of the "guid will and kyndness" of King James V.

Sir John was in possession of the estates of Thirles-

tane and Gamescleugh when, in June 1542, King

James assembled his nobility and their feudal re-

tainers at Fala Moor, with the intention of invad-

ing England in retaliation for the wrecking of

an abbey by the forces of the English King, Henry.

To the disappointment of King James, his nobles

obstinately refused to follow him over the border,

Sir John Scott alone declaring himself ready to

follow the King wherever he should lead, and with

his followers ranged himself under the King's ban-

ner. For this loyal conduct the King did "com-

mand and charge our lion herauld" to give and

grant to the family of Sir John a charter of arms,

entitling them to bear "ane border of ffleure de lises

about his coate of armes, sik as is on our royal

banner," with a bundle of spears for the crest and

the motto "Ready, aye ready."

 

'And hence, in fair remembrance worn,

Yon sheaf of spears his crest has borne;

Hence his high motto shines reveal'd

"Ready, aye ready" for the field.'

 

 

 

History of the Scott Family 27

 

In the reign of James I of Scotland (1406-1437),

Sir William Scott of Buccleuch exchanged, with

Sir Thomas Inglis, the estate of Murdieston, in Lan-

arkshire, for one-half of the barony of Branxholm, or

Branksome, lying upon the Teviot, about three miles

above the border town of Hawick. The remaining

half of the barony was, in 1443, granted by

James II to Sir Walter Scott and Sir David, his

son, as a reward for their services to the King,

against the house of Douglas, with whom King

James had been contending for the throne. Branx-

holm became the principal seat of the family of

Scott of Buccleuch, and the "ower word" or gather-

ing cry of the clan "Mount for Branxholm." The

castle was enlarged and strengthened by Sir David

Scott the grandson of Sir William. In 1570 it was

temporarily destroyed by the then Laird under the

following circumstances. The Earl of Northumber-

land, having assembled a strong force at Wark-

worth, crossed the border and proceeded up the

Valley of the Teviot to lay waste the lands of

Branxholm. He left not "one house, one stak of

corne, nor one shyef, without the gates of the

said Lord Buclough unburnt." Buccleuch, however,

rather than allow the castle to be despoiled by the

English, himself burned down the home of his an-

cestors. This foray of the Earl of Northumberland

was undertaken on behalf of the English Queen,

Elizabeth, who had been provoked by the frequent

raids of Buccleuch and especially by his espousal of

the cause of Queen Mary. Buccleuch quickly re-

taliated; for, with other border chiefs, he invaded

Northumberland and laying waste the country, re-

turned laden with spoil. He also, at once com-

 

 

 

28 History of the Scott Family

 

menced the rebuilding and enlarging of Branxholm ;

which work being uncompleted on his death in

1574, was finished by his widow, Dame Margaret of

Douglas. The following inscriptions still preserve

their memory. Upon a stone, bearing the arms of

Buccleuch, this legend appears, "Sir W. Scott, of

Branxheim, Knyt, oe of Sir William Scott of Kirk-

urd, Knyt, began ye work upon ye 24 of March,

1571 zier quha departit at God's pleisour ye 17th

April, 1574" and on a similar compartment are

sculptured the arms of Douglas, with this inscrip-

tion "Dame Margaret Douglas his spous completit

the forsaid work in October 1576." The Lairds of

Buccleuch observed much baronial magnificence at

Branxholm, maintaining a large household, both

probably from a desire for splendor, and on ac-

count of their border situation necessitating a

strong body of retainers.

 

In 1596 Sir Walter Scott, the then Laird of

Buccleuch, numbered among his many retainers a

celebrated border raider, Kinmont Willie. In March

of that year, a truce having been called with the

English for the purpose of a meeting of the War-

dens of the Marches, Buccleuch, being Warden of

Liddesdale, attended the meeting near Kershope-

foot, Kinmont Willie with other retainers accom-

panying him. Kinmont's frequent and successful

raids had made him an object of much dislike to

the English, and when riding home from the meet-

ing he was surprised and taken prisoner by Lord

Scrope's men, in direct violation of the border law

granting a full day's immunity to all present at a

Warden's meeting on a day of truce. Buccleuch

realized that he must strike at once or Kinmont

 

 

 

History of the Scott Family 29

 

Willie would hang at Carlisle. He gathered the

Scotts, Armstrongs, Elliots and Graemes, and al-

though he called for only the younger sons on such

a forlorn hope, Auld Wat of Harden and other elder

Scotts rode with their chief. They met at Einmont

Willie's tower, ten miles north of Carlisle, and in

a storm of wind and sleet, with scaling ladders

stormed the strongly fortified castle of Carlisle,

carrying out Kinmont Willie, fetters and all. King

James was compelled to accede to the constant de-

mands of Queen Elizabeth of England for the pun-

ishment of Buccleuch who was imprisoned by the

English Queen. Some two years after his imprison-

ment Buccleuch was asked by the Queen "How

dared you undertake an enterprise so desperate and

presumptous?" "Dared?" replied Buccleuch, "what

is it that a man dares not do?" "With ten thou-

sand such men," said Elizabeth, "our brother of

Scotland might shake the firmest crown in Europe."

The castle of Branxholm, and its immediate

neighborhood, is the scene of the "Lay of the

Last Minstrel," in which is described the trial by

single combat between Richard Musgrave and the

pseudo William Scott of Deloraine.

 

 

 

 

CHAPTER m.

 

HERE are numerous branches of the

family of Scott. Reference having al-

ready been made in the preceding chap-

ters to the Scotts of Buccleuch and the

Scotts of Harden, the following branches may also

be mentioned.

 

The Scotts of Balwearie trace their descent from

Sir Michael Scott who was knighted by Alexan-

der II, and was one of the assize upon a perambu-

lation of the boundary between the monastery of

Dunfermline and the lands of Dundaff in 1231. He

obtained the estates of Balwearie on his marriage

with the daughter and sole heiress of Sir Richard

Balwearie of Balwearie in the parish of Abbots-

hall. His son, Sir Michael, the famous wizard, of

whom we have already told, had two sons, Sir

Henry and Duncan, the latter being the owner of

lands in Forfarshire and ancestor of the Scotts in

the North of Scotland. The elder, Sir Henry,

died early in the reign of David II (1329-1371).

His son, Sir Andrew Scott, was killed at the taking

of Berwick by the Scots in 1355, leaving an infant

son, afterwards Sir William, who died towards the

end of the reign of Robert III. Sir Michael, his

son, was hostage for James I in 1424 and died

in the following reign. Sir Michael's son, Sir

William, married Isabel, daughter of Sir John Mon-

crief of that ilk, and with one daughter had two

sons, Sir William who succeeded him and Alex-

ander Scott of Fingask, Perthshire. The elder son,

 

30

 

 

 

i_ T7<V

 

 

 

History of the Scott Family 81

 

 

 

in February 1509, obtained a crown charter of the

lands of Strathmiglo, Fifeshire. The estate of

Strathmiglo had been held by the Scotts of Bal-

wearie, under the Earls of Fife, from about the

year 1251, and after the forfeiture of Murdo, Duke

of Albany, in 1424 under the crown. Sir William

accompanied James IV on his unfortunate expedition

into England in September 1513, and being taken

prisoner at Flodden was obliged to sell part of his

estates to pay his ransom. Later he was on two

occasions appointed a commissioner for effecting

a treaty of peace with England. Sir William was

nominated the first Senator, on the temporal side,

on the institution of the College of Justice in Scot-

land on 13th May 1532. He died shortly after his

appointment, leaving two sons, Sir William and

Thomas. The latter obtained a charter of the lands

of Pitgorno in 1526, and was named a Senator in

his father's place in November 1532. He was

appointed Justice Clerk by King James V in 1585

and died in 1539. The elder son, Sir William

Scott, married Isabel, daughter of Lord Lindsay of

the Byres and had two sons, Sir William and

Andrew, ancestor of the Scotts of Ancrum. Sir

William had two sons, Michael, who died in the

lifetime of his father and Sir William, who suc-

ceeded as Laird of Balwearie and Strathmiglo. His

son, Sir James, was one of the twelve gentlemen

knighted by James VI at the coronation of his

Queen, Anne of Denmark, in 1590. During his

time the barony of Strathmiglo was at its greatest,

but with him the wealth and dignity of the family

came to an end. He was involved with the Earls

of Angus, Errol and Huntly in their various re-

 

 

 

32 History of the Scott Family

 

bellions against James VI and was also connected

with the turbulent Earl of Bothwell. He was re-

peatedly fined for assistance given to this noble-

man in his attempts to gain possession of the

King's person between 1591 and 1594; and doubt-

less also paid heavily to the needy courtiers of the

King. He was obliged, from time to time, to sell

portions of his estate, until in 1600 the whole

barony of Strathmiglo was disposed of, excepting

the tower with the land and village adjoining.

The remaining portions of the barony were sold

either immediately before or after his death. He

had two sons, William and James. The former

predeceased his father, leaving a son, Walter, who

having been deprived of the estates through the

doings of his grandfather, entered the army and

died unmarried in Flanders, during the reign of

Charles I. James, the second son, purchased the

lands of Logie in Forfarshire and was the ancestor

of several families of Scott in that part of Scot-

land. His son, also James, acquired considerable

landed property and was enabled to leave an estate

to each of his sons; James Scott of Logie, Robert

Scott of Benholme, Hercules Scott of Brotherton,

Patrick Scott of Craig, John and David.

 

The Scotts of Ancrum, Roxburghshire, descend

from Andrew, the younger of the two sons of Sir

William Scott above mentioned. This Andrew Scott

lived in the time of Queen Mary and received from

his father the estates of Glendoich as life tenant,

the estates to revert to the family on his death.

He was also in possession of the lands of Kirkstyle,

Perthshire. His great-grandson, Patrick Scott, who

lived in the reign of James VI, sold Kirkstyle and

 

 

 

History of the Scott Family 33

 

purchased Langshaw in the south of Scotland, and

afterwards acquired the estates of Ancrum. His

son, Sir John Scott, obtained a charter under the

Great Seal, in 1670, of the lands and Barony of

Ancrum and was created a Baronet in 1671.

 

Reference has been made in Chapter I to the

Scotts of Harden. From Hugh, the third son of

Wat of Harden and his wife, the Flower of Yar-

row, the Scotts of Gala take descent. The Scotts

of Synton are descended from Francis, the fourth

son, who married Isabel, sister of Sir Walter Scott

of Whitstead.

 

The Scotts of Thirlestane, now represented by

Lord Napier, are descended from the Scotts of

Howpaisley, who got the estate of Thirlestane from

the Abbacy of Melrose. It has already been told

how Sir John Scott of Thirlestane earned arms,

crest and motto. From his third son Andrew (or

Arthur) are descended the families of Newburgh

and Ravelburn.

 

The Scotts of Raeburn, as mentioned in Chap-

ter I, are descended from Walter, third son of Sir

William Scott, third Laird of Harden.

 

The Scotts of Tushielaw in Ettrick were at one

time a powerful section of the clan Scott; and like

all the race, were busy raiders and mosstroopers.

Their ancient Tower of Tushielaw is celebrated in

minstrelsy and tradition. Adam Scott of Tushie-

law, one of the most famous of their chiefs, was

known as the "King of the Thieves," or the "King of

the Border." His reiving and raiding proclivities

aroused the ire of James V, who, in 1528, made

proclamation to all lords, barons and gentlemen,

that they should "compear at Edinburgh with a

 

 

 

34 History of the Scott Family

 

month's victuals," to accompany him on an expedi-

tion to "danton the thieves of Teviotdale, Annan-

dale and Liddisdale." They seized Scott of Tushie-

law one morning before breakfast and summarily

hung him on an ash tree in front of his strong-

hold. The ash tree is said to be still standing

and is still called "Gallows Tree."

 

The Scotts of Malleny, Midlothian, branched off

from the house of Murdieston, before the ancestor

of the Buccleuchs exchanged that estate for half the

barony of Branxholm. James Scott of Scotsloch

was the first of the family to settle in Midlothian,

during the reign of Queen Mary. His son, Law-

rence Scott of Harprig, was clerk to the Privy

Council in the reign of Charles I. He had three

sons, William, his heir, James of Bonnytoun and

Lawrence, ancestor of the Scotts of Bavelaw. The

eldest, William, was knighted by Charles I in 1641,

and in June 1649 was appointed one of the Lords

Ordinary of Sessions, taking the title of Lord Clerk-

ington. His son John inherited from his father the

lands and Barony of Malleny, which became the

chief title of this branch of the Scott family. Gen-

eral Thomas Scott, a scion of the Malleny family

born in 1745 served, as Captain, with his regiment

in America from 1776 to 1788 and on his return

to Europe accompanied the Duke of York to

Flanders to oppose the French revolutionary forces.

He saw much service and died at the age of 96,

in 1841.

 

The Scotts of Duninald, in the Parish of Craig,

Forfarshire, descended from Patrick Scott of Craig,

born in 1623, the son of James Scott of Logic and

a descendant of the Scotts of Balwearie. At the

beginning of the 18th century, the adjoining estates

 

 

 

History of the Scott Family 35

 

of Duninald, Usan and Rossie were in the posses-

sion of three brothers of the name of Scott, who

had married three sisters, heiresses of these estates.

Upon the death of two of these brothers, the owners

of Duninald and Usan, Patrick Scott of Rossie,

the remaining brother, became possessed of the

three estates. His son, Robert, born in 1705, was

Member of Parliament for Forfarshire and repre-

sented that constituency for many years. It is told

of him that during the 1745 rising, he remained

a faithful adherent to King George, and that when

Prince Charlie's men arrived in Montrose, a party

of them went to Duninald House, threatening him

with death. The entreaties of his wife, Ann Mid-

dleton of Seton, described as a woman of fine ap-

pearance and manner, prevailed to save his life and

he was carried off a prisoner to the Montrose tol-

booth. He was set free on the arrival of the Duke

of Cumberland and died in 1780. He son, David

Scott of Duninald, married Louisa Jervis, a widow,

the daughter and co-heiress of William Delagard,

and died in 1805 leaving one son, David and three

daughters. Elizabeth, the other sister and co-heiress

of William Delagard, married James Sibbald of Sill-

wood Park, Sussex, who was created a Baronet in

1806. He died without issue in 1819, David Scott

of Duninald, the son of his wife's sister, becoming

heir to the title as Sir David Scott, second Baronet

of Sillwood Park.

 

The Scotts of Benholme, Forfarshire, and the

Scotts of Brotherton, Kincardineshire, are both

branches of the family of Scott of Logic ; the former

from Robert, the second son, and the latter from

Hercules, the third son of James Scott of Logie.

 

 

 

36 History of the Scott Family

 

Shortly before embarking at Montrose for France

in 1716, the Chevalier St. George, the Stuart claim-

ant of the throne, was concealed in the garden of

Brotherton, and the last night the Chevalier spent

in Scotland, he slept in the house of Scott of Logic.

The Scotts of Scotstarvet take descent from

David the second son of Sir David Scott, the eleventh

generation of the house of Buccleuch in the male

line. David Scott, known as of Allanbaugh and

Whitchester, lived in the reigns of James IV and V,

and died in 1530 leaving three sons, Robert, Alex-

ander and James. The youngest entered the Church,

becoming Provost of Corstophine and a Ltird of Ses-

sions on the spiritual side, on the institution of that

court in Scotland. Sir Alexander Scott, the second

son, was appointed Vice Register of Scotland by

King James V in 1534, and died in 1540. His son,

Robert Scott, who owned the lands of Knightspottie,

became Clerk of the Parliament and Director of

the Chancery in 1579. He had one daughter and

two sons, Robert and James of Vogrie. He re-

signed the office of Director of the Chancery, first

in favor of his elder son Robert, who predeceased

him in 1588, and secondly in favor of his step-

son, Sir William Scott of Ardross, to be held until

his grandson John, the son of Robert, came of age.

John, who later became the celebrated Sir John

Scott of Scotstarvet, was only seven years of age

on the death of his grandfather in 1592. On attain-

ing his majority, John obtained the office of Director

of the Chancery. By a charter dated 1611, he was

granted the lands of Tarvet in Fif eshire, the name

of which he changed to Scotstarvet. Appointed of

the Privy Council of King James VI, he was knighted

 

 

 

History of the Scott Family 37

 

by that King in 1617 and admitted an Extraordinary

Lord of Session in 1629, taking the judicial title

of Lord Scotstarvet. He was one of the many Lairds

and lawyers of Scotland, who accepted the covenant

and in November 1638 he declined to sign the King's

confession. In 1640 he was named one of the Com-

mittee of Estates for the defence of the realm, and

in 1641 the King created him a Judge ad vitam aut

culpam. On the occasion of the war with England,

he served on the War Committee in 1648 and 1649,

but was deprived of both the office of Judge and

Director of Chancery during the Commonwealth.

He made many appeals to be restored to the latter

office, but Cromwell, in 1652, bestowed it on Jeffrey

who held it until the Restoration. Through General

Monck, Scott again appealed to the Protector for

the reversion of the office if Jeffrey died. Instead

of reinstatement, Cromwell, in 1654, fined him

1,500, for his conduct in the war. Further, his

correspondence with Cromwell created a very un-

favorable impression on the Royalists, who, instead

of appointing him to office on the Restoration, fined

him 500. He retired to Scotstarvet, where he en-

gaged in literary work and died in 1670.

 

A lady of the Scotstarvet family deserves men-

tion, Majory, the daughter of David Scott of Scots-

tarvet, and great-granddaughter of the celebrated

Sir John. It has been said, that on her marriage

with Lord Stormont she took with her the ability

of the house, as she produced an illustrious Ohief

Justice, known as Silver Tongue Murray, who, it

was said, on the father's side sprung from an or-

dinary Scottish peer the eleventh of fourteen chil-

dren, raised on oatmeal porridge.

 

 

 

88 History of the Scott Family

 

The Scotts of Gala, Roxburghshire, are descended

from Hugh, the third son of Walter Scott of Harden,

"Auld Wat," and his wife the Flower of Yarrow.

Hugh Scott lived in the reigns of James I and

Charles I, being known as Scott of Deuchar. He

married Jean, eldest daughter of Sir James Hop-

Pringle of Galashiels, and had several sons, James,

his heir, Walter, George, the progenitor of the Scotts

of Auchty-Donald, John and David. Hugh Scott

died in 1640 and his eldest son, James, obtained a

charter, dated 9th June 1640, of the lands and

Barony of Gala. A descendant, John Scott of Gala,

was the intimate friend of his kinsman Sir Walter

Scott and accompanied him on his visit to the field

of Waterloo. His reminiscences of Sir Walter are

published in Lockhart's Life of Scott.

 

The Scotts of Hassendean, Roxburghshire, traced

descent from David Scott, who lived in the middle

part of the 15th century. He was the eldest son

of Sir William Scott of Kirkurd who, as before told,

exchanged Murdieston for Branxholm. A Scott of

Hassendean, Sir Alexander, fell at the battle of

Flodden, 1513, and among the border Barons who

in 1530 neglected to fulfill their bonds, there appears

a William Scott of Hassendean. It is also on record

that in 1564, David Scott, Laird of Hassendean, was

slain by William Elliot of Horsliehill. It is not

known at what date the male line of this branch

of the Scott family failed, but possibly on the death

of the said David Scott.

 

One of the most ancient branches of the Scotts

was that of Synton, descended from Walter Scott

of Synton, who lived in the reigns of Robert II

and III. George Scott was the last of the original

 

 

 

History of the Scott Family 39

 

family styled Synton, but, as we have seen, from

them are descended the Harden branch and from

the Synton family came also the Scotts of Sachells.

 

Sir William Scott, the founder of the Kentish

family of Scots Hall, was the son of John Scott,

seneschal of the manor of Brabourne, Kent. Sir

William was a Justice of the Common Pleas, ap-

pointed 1336, and knighted on the day Edward the

Black Prince was created Duke of Cornwall. He

died in 1350. The tradition is that Sir William was

descended from a younger brother of John de Baliol,

King of Scotland and of Alexander de Baliol, Lord

of Chilham, Kent. Family records show that in

1402, Peter de Coumbe made a settlement of the

Manor of Coumbe in Brabourne, on William Scott

who died in 1434. He is credited with the building

of the Hall, afterwards known as Scots Hall, and

had two sons, John and William. The latter, Lord

of the Manor of Woolstan and founded of the family

of Scott of Chigwell, died in 1491. The elder, Sir

John, Sheriff of Kent in 1460, was knighted and

made Comptroller of the Household by Edward IV

in 1461. He was also Lieutenant of Dover Castle,

Warden of the Cinque Ports and Marshal of Calais.

He died on 17th October 1489.

 

Other branches of the family of Scott include

the Scotts of Wauchope, descended from Howcleuch

and Crumbaugh, whose memorials are at Hawick.

Walter Scott of Wauchope was a friend of the poet

Burns. Also the Scotts of Whitehaugh and the

Scotts of Burnfoot, one of whom acquired the lands

of Headshaw by marriage. Also the Scotts of Mid-

dlestead, Kirkhouse, Huntly, Whitslade and Todrig.

 

The story of two brothers of the name of Scott,

 

 

 

40 History of the Scott Family

 

sons of a coal fitter at Newcastle, both of whom be-

came Judges and both of whom were raised to the

peerage, is worthy of a place in any record of the

family whose name they bore. Conjecture has en-

deavored to connect these brothers with the house

of Scott of Balwearie, but beyond the name, nothing

but tradition indicates such descent.

 

John Scott, Baron and afterwards Earl of Eldon,

Lord High Chancellor of England and William Scott,

Baron Stowell, his elder brother, were sons of

William Scott, who began life as apprentice to, and

later became principal in, a coal fitter's business at

Newcastle-upon-Tyne. William was born at He-

worth, in the County of Durham, on 17th October

1745 ; John at Newcastle on 4th June 1751 ; and both

boys were scholars at the old Grammar School at

Newcastle. William obtained a Durham fellowship

at University College, Oxford, but it was his father's

intention to apprentice John to his own business.

He, however, followed his brother to Oxford, where

he was entered at University College as a com-

moner, on May 15th 1766, his purpose then being

to study for the Church, with a view to obtain a

college living. He graduated B. A. in 1770 and in

1771 won the English Essay prize. Not until after

his marriage did John Scott turn his attention to

the study of the law, the summit of which profession

he was destined to attain. He married Elizabeth,

the beautiful daughter of a Newcastle banker, Mr.

Aubone Surtees. Young Scott's suit was strongly

opposed by Mr. Surtees who forbade the marriage,

but on the night of November 18th 1772, John Scott

carried off the lady across the border to Blackshiels,

where the marriage took place the following day.

 

 

 

History of the Scott Family 41

 

He became a student at the Middle Temple in Jan-

uary 1773 and in February of that year took the

degree of M. A. at Oxford. In 1776 he was called

to the bar, practicing in London and on the Northern

Circuit. His father died in the same year, leaving

him a legacy of 1,000 over and above 2,000 which

he had already received. His practice in London

increased slowly, but in 1780 his prospects were

suddenly improved by his appearance in the cele-

brated case of Ackroyd v. Smithson, which became

a leading case. Losing his point in the lower court,

Scott successfully argued it on appeal before Lord

Thurlow. He also appeared as counsel in several

election petitions, notably the Clitheroe petition. In

two years he took silk, becoming Kings Counsel.

Shortly after this he entered Parliament as a sup-

porter of Pitt and member for the Borough of Weo-

bley.

 

In 1788 he was knighted on being appointed Solici-

tor-General, and it is generally understood that he

drew the Regency Bill which was introduced in

1789. Promotion to the office of Attorney General

came in 1793 and while incumbent of this office

he conducted the memorable prosecutions for high

treason against the British sympathizers with the

French revolutionaries. In 1799 Sir John became

Chief Justice of the Court of Common Pleas, enter-

ing the House of Lords as Baron Eldon. In Febru-

ary 1801 Addington succeeded Pitt as Prime Min-

ister and Lord Eldon ascended the woolsack as Lord

High Chancellor of England. He sat for twenty-

six years as Lord Chancellor, from 1801 until 1806

and again from 1807 until 1827, the longest period

the Great Seal was ever held by one individual.

 

 

 

42 History of the Scott Family

 

Lord Eldon had been created Earl of Eldon by

George IV in 1821 ; in 1827, in the seventy-sixth year

of his age, he resigned the Chancellorship. His wife

died before him on 28th June 1831. They had two

sons, John who died in 1805 and William Henry

John who died in 1832. John, Earl of Eldon, him-

self died in London, aged eighty-seven, on the 13th

January 1838, leaving two daughters, Lady Frances

Bankes and Lady Elizabeth Repton, and a grandson

who succeeded him.

 

Lord Eldon's greatness as a Judge is universally

acknowledged and although he was said to be slow,

his judgments evinced great accuracy and a constant

anxiety to do justice. His manners were courtly

and winning, but he is said to have been parsimoni-

ous and his establishment and mode of life were

hardly in keeping with his high office. He enjoyed

a joke. On one occasion he challenged a poacher

on his estate who accosted him as "Old Bags keeper,"

but Lord Eldon told him he was "Old Bags himself."

The Bag Office was an office in Chancery from which

he derived his nick-name.

 

William, Baron Stowell, the other and elder of the

Scott brothers, was, as already mentioned, born on

17th October 1745. The fact that he was born in

the County of Durham, enabled him to qualify for

the Durham fellowship at University College, Ox-

ford, where he was appointed a tutor and eventually

became senior tutor of the College. In 1767 he took

the M. A. degree at Oxford, being elected Camden

reader in Ancient History. He was a friend of Dr.

Johnson and executor of his will. He had entered

as a student at the Middle Temple in 1762, but post-

poned his renewal from Oxford to London until

 

 

 

History of the Scott Family 43

 

1777. He was called to the bar in February 1780,

practicing in the Admiralty and Eccelesiastical

Courts, where his success has been described as

wonderful. In 1782 he received the Crown appoint-

ment of Advocate General for the office of the Lord

High Admiral. In 1783 he was appointed, by the

Archbishop of Canterbury, to the office of Registrar

of the Court of Faculties and in 1788 became Judge

of the Consistory Court of London. On September

3rd 1788 he received the honor of knighthood

and the same year was appointed Judge of the

High Court of Admiralty, also being sworn of the

Privy Council. He was Member of Parliament for

Oxford University from 1801 until, on the corona-

tion of George IV by patent dated 17th July 1821,

he was raised to the peerage with the title of Baron

Stowell of Stowell Park. In the same year his

brother John was created Earl of Eldon. Baron

Stowell ranks as among the most eminent of English

Judges and his services to maritime and interna-

tional law are unsurpassed. Lord Brougham said

of him, "There has seldom, if ever, appeared in the

profession of the law anyone so peculiarly endowed

with all the learning and capacity which can ac-

complish, as well as all the graces which can em-

bellish, the judicial character." He died on the 28th

January 1836.

 

Sir Walter Scott, born at Edinburgh on the 15th

August 1771, the most celebrated poet and novelist

of his day, described himself as "A Border Ministrel."

He came from a great fighting stock, being six gen-

erations removed from Auld Wat of Harden, tracing

his descent through the Scotts of Raeburn. His

father, Walter Scott, a writer to the signet in Edin-

 

 

 

44 History of the Scott Family

 

burgh, was the first of the family to leave the country

for the city; his mother was Anne, granddaughter

of Sir Walter Swinton and daughter of John Ruther-

ford, Professor of Medicine in the University of

Edinburgh, a scion of an old Border stock. Though

in boyhood Sir Walter's health was delicate, he at-

tended the High School and in 1783 entered the

University of Edinburgh. The precarious state of

his health continuing to interfere with his studies,

he devoted much time to his favorite subjects,

romantic lore, border history and poetry. He was

admitted a member of the Faculty of Advocates in

1792. The year 1796 saw the publication of his first

work, a translation of two of Burger's ballads en-

titled "Leonore" and "The Wild Huntsman." In

the autumn of 1797, while on a visit to Gilsland,

in Cumberland, he met his future wife, Charlotte

Charpentier, the daughter of a French refugee;

visitors to Gilsland, today, are shown the boulder in

the river, upon which Sir Walter and the lady are

said to have been seated, when he proposed mar-

riage, the rock being locally celebrated as "The

Popping Stone." They were married the same year.

His first large original work, "The Lay of the Last

Minstrel," appeared in 1805, the immediate and re-

markable success of the poem deciding Sir Walter

to devote himself entirely to literary work. "Mar-

mion" was published in 1809, "The Lady of the

Lake" in 1810, shortly after which he considered

his financial position sufficiently favorable to war-

rant his first purchase of land at Abbotsford, on the

south bank of the River Tweed, three miles above

Melrose. He had, however, hardly begun, in 1812,

his plans for building and laying out the estate,

 

 

 

History of the Scott Family 45

 

when the serious financial condition of Ballantyne

& Co., the publishing house with which he was con-

nected, brought him to the very verge of bankruptcy.

The crisis was temporarily averted by the help of

the publisher, Constable, and in July 1814 Scott's

first novel "Waverley" was published by that house,

without the name of the author being made known.

Curiosity as to the identity of "The Great Unknown"

kept alive the interest in his works and it was not

until 1827 that the secret of the identity of the

author of the Waverley novels was formally di-

vulged, though it had long been known to his

acquaintances. The building of the new house at

Abbotsford was completed in 1824, but Scott had

occupied his new home only one year, when the

estate was involved in debt connected with the fail-

ure of Ballantyne and Constable. From that time

he had a hard fight with evil fortune and disease,

but in the number of works produced, in speed of

production and diversity of subject he has never had

a rival. The Abbotsford estate was eventually re-

deemed by the fruit of his brain, but not in his life-

time. He died at Abbotsford on the 21st Septem-

ber 1832 and was buried at Dryburgh Abbey. His

eldest son, Walter, a Lieutenant-Colonel in the 15th

Hussars, succeeded to the Baronetcy conferred on

his father in 1820, the title becoming extant on his

death, while returning from India, in 1847. The

Scott Monument at Edinburgh was erected in 1846.

 

 

 

 

CHAPTER IV.

 

HILE Scott and Ker and Scott and Elliot

were still engaged in family feuds or

in spoiling their neighbors across the

Border, and Buccleuch, the head of the

clan, immolating his beloved Branxholm; while

Auld Wat of Harden was a "fyrebrande of the

Border"; adventurers from the old world were

opening up the wonders of the new land across the

Western Ocean.

 

Though the current of migration was slow in

the early years of the settlement of America, the

fact that members of the Scott family were among

the earliest colonists is evident by a comparison

of the dates of the first settlements with the time

of their arrival. In the year 1577 a patent of

colonization for Virginia was granted to Sir Hum-

phry Gilbert, and in 1585 one hundred and eight

settlers arrived under Sir Richard Grenville. The

first permanent English settlement, however, was

not until 1607, when a small body of colonists

founded Jamestown and other settlements along

the James River, later to become the Province

of Virginia. In the same year a small colony was

formed in what is now Maine, and from that date

onwards other communities were forming on the

Atlantic seaboard, the most important in New

England. New York was founded in 1614; while

the year 1620 saw the arrival of the historic

"Mayflower" and the founding of the Plymouth

 

46

 

 

 

History of the Scott Family 47

 

Colony, later to become merged in the Colony of

Massachusetts, which in 1629 obtained a royal

charter for the territory between the Merrimac

and Charles Rivers. Maryland was founded in

1632, being followed by other settlements until the

entire coast line north of Florida was occupied by

English Colonies.

 

Having in mind the dates above mentioned, it

will be seen from the following account of some

of the first Scotts in America, that the name is

found at an early date in the records of the

newly founded settlements.

 

Early mention of the name is found in "The

Proceedings of the English Colonies in Virginia

since their first beginning from England in the

yeare of our Lord 1606, till this present 1612 with

all their accidents that befell them in their jour-

nies and discoveries," printed at Oxford in 1612.

It contains a list of 105 names entitled "The

names of them that were the first planters," among

whom is "Nic. Skot" otherwise Nicholas Scott.

Other early references are found in "Burk's Names

of the Adventurers for Virginia in 1620" which

includes three Scotts, Geo. Scott, Thomas Scott,

Edm. Scott; also in "A List of Names of the

Living in Virginia," dated 16th February 1623,

are Henry Scott and "at the Eastern shore" Walter

Scott and Goodwife Scott, the latter being a cus-

tomary method of recording a wife. In another

list of the inhabitants of "The Eastern Shore Ouer

the Baye" the entry is Walter Scott, Apphia Scott

and Percis Scott, the last named "borne in Vir-

ginia."

 

A little later, mention is made of the coming

 

 

 

48 History of the Scott Family

 

of other Scotts; this time to New England. "A

note of the names and ages of all the passengers

which tooke shipping in the 'Elizabeth' of Ipswich

bound for New England the last of Aprill 1634"

includes Thomas Scott, aged 40, and his wife Eliza-

beth, with their children, Elizabeth nine years old,

Abigail seven and Thomas, six. Also Martha Scott,

aged 60, mother of the first named Thomas and

widow of Henry Scott of Rattlesden, Suffolk.

Thomas Scott and his family settled at Cambridge,

Massachusetts, later removing to the new settle-

ment of Ipswich, of which he was town officer

in 1653.

 

Another record relates to a Thomas Scott living

in Hartford in 1637. It is stated that he "was

k. 6th November 1643 careless by John Ewe for

wh. he was fin. 5 to the Col. and 10 to the wid."

In the records of the Colony of Massachusetts

Bay among "Psons made free the 7th of the 10th

month @ 1636," is Robert Scotte and at "A Court

of Assistants or Quarter Court held at Boston the

3d of the 10th mo. 1639," a Robert Scott was

one of a jury who acquitted Marmadake Peirce,

tried upon "suspition of murther."

 

Richard Scott was born in England at Glems-

ford, Suffolk, his father's family being an offshoot

of the family of Scots Hall. He landed at Boston,

having, probably, came over in the "Griffin" in

1633 or 1634. An entry in an old record, dated

November 24th 1634, states that he and another

"was lost in their way homewards and wandered

up and down six days and eat nothing. At length

they were found by an Indian being almost sense-

less for want of rest." He was admitted a mem-

 

 

 

History of the Scott Family 49

 

ber of the Boston Church on the 28th August

1634. He then appears in the Providence Planta-

tions, being described as "of Providence in ye

Colony of Rhode Island and Providence Planta-

tions." The Plantations comprised what is now

Woonsocket, Smithfield, Lincoln, North Providence,

Johnston and Cranston. His signature is attached

to the Providence Compact, dated 20th August

1637, and in the same year he married Catherine

Marbury. Scott prospered and sometime between

1640 and 1650 sold his property in Providence and

removed to his lands at Moshasuck. Both he and

his son John took an active part in the early

Indian fighting. In 1656 Christopher Holder, a

Quaker, arrived from England and Richard Scott

and his wife joined the new faith; Richard, it is

said, being the first Quaker convert in New Eng-

land. While on a visit to Christopher Holder at

Boston, in 1658, Catherine Scott, the wife, was

whipped with ten lashes for Quakerism; Chris-

topher Holder having already suffered the crop-

ping of one ear. Richard Scott was a representa-

tive in the General Assembly and died in 1681 or

1682. He had two sons and five daughters.

 

The register of the Honorable Artillery Company

of Boston recites that Robert Scott was enrolled

a member of that body in 1638, the Company then

being known as The Military Company of the

Massachusetts. This Robert Scott, an emigrant,

joined the First Church at Boston on 15th Decem-

ber 1633 and was admitted a freeman of the

Colony on the 6th December 1636. In 1637 he

was granted a "great lot for twelve heads" at

the Mount, obtaining an additional grant of 200

 

 

 

50 History of the Scott Family.

 

acres in 1640. He was clerk to the Honorable

Artillery Company in 1645. The Town Records

in 1649 refer to him as "Sergaint" and as "Ensign"

in 1652. He died in 1654.

 

Captain John Scott, known also as Scott of

Long Island, at one time claimed to be the owner

of "near one third part" of the Island. According

to his own account, he was the son of an Eng-

lishman of some fortune; also, that for cutting

the bridles and girths of the Parliamentary Troops

at Turnham Green, when the King's forces were

at Brentford in 1642, he was brought before a

Parliamentary Committee and, with other children,

sent to New England under the care of Edmond

Dowling in 1643. Scott was placed with a settler

named Laurence Southwick. His master, after

suffering imprisonment and being fined and

whipped during the Quaker persecution, was, in

1659, banished from the Colony of Massachusetts

and fled for safety to Shelter Island. The fol-

lowing year Scott "caused much embarrassment to

the people of Southampton" by selling to the colo-

nists land which he claimed to have bought from

the Indians, which claim was afterwards found

to be fraudulent. In 1661 he was back in London;

attracted by the news of the Restoration, return-

ing to Long Island in 1662. A second journey

to London was undertaken in order to obtain a

letter from the King in relation to the Narraganset

lands, and, while in London, Scott petitioned the

Crown that he be appointed Governor of Long

Island, supporting his prayer by allegations against

various persons and complaints of the intrusion

of the Dutch into the Island. In answer to his

 

 

 

History of the Scott Family 51

 

petition, the Committee ordered "Capt. Scott, Mr.

Maverick and Mr. Baxter to draw up a report of

the intrusions and make them acknowledge or

submit to the King's Government; or expulse

them." Scott was well received on his return to

Massachusetts, his expenses paid and an armed

force furnished him, with which he went to Long

Island. In consequence of Scott's announcement

that the King had granted the Island to the Duke

of York, a number of Long Island communities

decided to reject union with any other Colony,

empowering Scott, as President, to provide for

the public safety. Scott claimed authority over

the whole of the Island, but later, in fear of

imprisonment, escaped and joined the English

forces. A complaint was again lodged that "Scott

according to his wonted course" was creating dis-

turbance. In 1665, we find that Col. Nicholls, the

Deputy Governor appointed by the Duke of York,

had lost all confidence in Scott, whom he de-

scribes as "a man born to mischief," and more

complaints arising, Scott fled to the Barbadoes.

Nothing certain is known of his subsequent career.

Among the settlers at Gravesend, Long Island,

in 1646, appears the name Rodger Scott, and the

records of the same settlement show that William

Scott was the buyer of a house and garden on 31st

May 1660. This is believed to be the same William

Scott who obtained a license to marry Abigail

Warner in 1678. He removed to Shrewsbury, New

Jersey, in 1682 or 1683, obtaining two patents for

land in that township in the year 1688. He was

a farmer and one of the Society of Friends. He

had five sons and a daughter and died some time

prior to 1707.

 

 

 

52 History of the Scott Family

 

Other records of this period tell us that "At

a small Court at Boston the 28th of the 5th mo.

1642," Margaret Stephenson was judged at liberty

to be married to Benjamin Scott. Also that

Edmund Scott settled in New England in 1649,

becoming a freeman in 1669. He was an original

proprietor of Waterbury and died there in 1699.

In 1651, Edward Scott asked for a grant of land

at New London "yet did not improve it" and

went to Hadley in 1662. At the latter place a

marriage was recorded in 1670 between Edward

Scott and Elizabeth Webster.

 

Among the early settlers at Springfield in the

Colony of Massachusetts was one John Scott. He

married Sarah, daughter of Thomas and Margaret

Bliss, on the 26th July 1659. It is probable

that he and William Scott of Hatfield, men-

tioned later, were brothers and emigrated together.

In 1664 John Scott bought a tract of land on the

Agawam River and a record of the same year

states, "The Jury also presented Captain Pynchon

and John Scott for not mayntayning their fences

on the west side of the river." He took part in

the Falls fight with the Indians in 1676, and was

still a citizen of Springfield when he took the oath

of allegiance in 1678, but shortly after obtained

a grant of land at Suffield to which he removed

and died there on 2nd January 1690. He had

eight children.

 

About the year 1668 William Scott came to

Hatfield in the Colony of Massachusetts, but there

is no record to tell from whence he came. It

is probable, as before mentioned, that he and John

Scott of Springfield were brothers who had emi-

 

 

 

History of the Scott Family 53

 

grated from the old country. On 8th August 1670,

William Scott was assigned a lot of 20 rods in

width "on the east side of the street near the

north end of the street," opposite Sergeant Wait's

property ; and in the same year he married Hannah,

daughter of Lieutenant Allis of Hatfield. Another

grant of land and a division in the commons were

granted him in 1671. William Scott's house at

the north end of the street was outside the

palisaded inclosure and undoubtedly suffered when,

in 1675, Indians numbering nearly 800 attacked

the settlement with the intention of destroying it.

The attack was, however, expected; the Indians

being driven off after hard fighting. A curious

record dated 1673, tells us that Hannah Scott,

William's wife, and five other Hatfield women

were fined for wearing silk contrary to the law.

William Scott took part in the battle with the

Indians at Turner's Falls on 19th May 1676 when

the red men were utterly defeated, though many

Colonists were killed, including Scott's brother-in-

law, William Allis, Jr. Scott was again among

the defenders, when the Indians attacked on 19th

September 1677, killing twelve settlers and taking

seventeen captive; the latter being all redeemed

with the exception of three whom the Indians had

already killed. The same year the General Court

at Boston showed their appreciation of the part

William Scott had taken in the fighting, awarding

him two pounds sixteen shillings for military ex-

penses. He had ten children and died about 1718,

leaving considerable landed property.

 

One year before Charles II granted a charter to

William Penn for the Province of Pennsylvania,

 

 

 

54 History of the Scott Family

 

Hugh Scott, in 1670, settled in Chester County.

He was born in the north of Ireland of Scottish

descent.

 

A New York Council Minute, dated 4th August

1677, states that Benjamin Scott, and others named,

came before the Council, "Informing the Governor

of their being lately come from England in the

good ship 'The Kent* now riding in the Bay near

Sandy Hoeck." Benjamin Scott, who came from

Widdington, England, was one of the commission-

ers of the London Quakers, who, with some Quakers

from Yorkshire, founded Burlington, New Jersey.

He is included in the list of "Magistrates of West

New Jersey, commission being the first dated

August 1677."

 

The third son of the first Sir John Scott of

Ancrum, Captain John Scott, came to New York

from Scotland about 1690. He was probably an

officer in the Army, as in 1717 he was in command

of Fort Hunter, at the mouth of the Scoharie

Creek. His son John was a prominent merchant in

New York.

 

Notwithstanding that the following hardly tends

to enhance the reputation of the name, it indicates

that even at so early a date a Scott was extensively

engaged in tobacco planting. In 1692 Jane Scott

of "Elizabeth City County," Virginia, complained

to a Justice of the Peace that her husband was

not contributing to the support of herself and

child. An order was promptly made that Scott,

her husband, at once pay her fifteen hundred

pounds of tobacco.

 

Three generations of one family of Scott form

links connecting an old Manse in the north of

 

 

 

History of the Scott Family 55

 

Scotland, with the erection of the Capitol to be

occupied by the Congress of the new nation. The

Rev. John Scott, born 1650 died 1726, of the

Parish of Dipple in the Presbytery of Elgin, Moray-

shire, had two sons, Alexander and James, who

leaving the old country settled in the Colony of

Virginia. Alexander Scott was ordained and

licensed for Virginia by the Bishop of London in

1710, in which same year he arrived in the Colony,

residing on an estate he named Dipple, in memory

of the old home in Scotland. He was Rector of

Overwharton Parish, Stafford County, for "near

28 years," and is mentioned as being present at

a convention of the Virginia clergy at William

and Mary College. He died without issue in 1738.

His brother, the Rev. James Scott, whom he had

invited to Virginia, inherited the Dipple estate, but

removed to Prince William County, where he died

in 1782 leaving nine children. His son, Hon.

Gustavus Scott, born 1753, went to Maryland

where he was chosen a delegate from Somerset

County to the Provincial Convention at Annapolis,

22nd June 1774; also was one of the Association

of Freemen who, in July 1775, determined to

abolish the proprietary government of Maryland.

Later he became a member of the Maryland Legis-

lature. Removing to Georgetown, the Hon. Gus-

tavus Scott was, in 1795, appointed by the City

of Washington a commissioner to superintend the

erection of the National Capitol. He died at Wash-

ington, D. C., in 1801.

 

 

 

 

CHAPTER V.

 

HE year 1774 was a fateful year in

the history of the American Colonies. It

witnessed the meeting of the First Con-

tinental Congress, held in the City of

Philadelphia, on the 5th day of September 1774;

this Congress being the initial step towards the

conflict which was to wrest the Colonies from the

rule of the English King.

 

Sprung from a fighting stock, it is only to be

expected that the men of the name of Scott were

to be found among the sturdy farmers and hardy

settlers, who, through the long years from 1775

to 1783, faced the soldiers of England and fought

for the right of self-government.

 

The two members of the Scott family whose

names are most prominent in the records of the

Revolutionary War were Brig.-General Charles

Scott and Brig.-General John Morin Scott. The

former was a native of Cumberland County in

Virginia, where he raised the first Company of

Volunteers in that State, south of the James River,

that entered the Continental service. He was ap-

pointed Lieut.-Colonel of the 2nd Virginia Regi-

ment in February 1776 and, in May of the same

year, Colonel of the 5th Virginia Regiment. Scott

was in command of Virginian troops when, on

Christmas night, 1776, Washington recrossed the

Delaware to attack Trenton, completely surprising

and routing the Hessians. In April of the fol-

 

56

 

 

 

History of the Scott Family 57

 

lowing year, Congress appointed him a Brigadier-

General in the Continental Army, and when Wash-

ington marched to Princeton with the main army,

General Scott, with chosen troops, was detailed to

harass and retard the enemy. He commanded a

brigade at the Battle of Germantown, later going

into winter quarters with Washington during the

trying winter of 1777-78 at Valley Forge. He

was also at the Battle of Monmouth in 1778 with

express orders "to hold his position," and at the

Court Martial for the trial of Major-General

Charles Lee, convened at Brunswick, 4th July

1778, General Scott gave evidence as to having

heard Washington instruct General Lee to attack.

Taken prisoner at Charleston on 12th May 1780,

General Scott was on parole at the end of the

War. He settled in Woodford County, Va., in

1785, but again went on active service, being pres-

ent at the defeat of St. Clair in 1791, and com-

manding a section of Wayne's Army at the Battle

of The Fallen Timber in 1794. He was Governor

of Kentucky from 1808 to 1812 and died on the

20th October 1820, aged 74.

 

Brigadier-General John Morin Scott was de-

scended from the Scotts of Ancrum. Born in 1730,

after graduating at Yale he adopted the profession

of the law. He was defeated in the election for the

General Congress of 1774, mainly on account of

his active advocacy of extreme measures, but was

an influential member of the General Committee

of New York in 1775; also a member of the Pro-

vincial Congress of that year. Commissioned a

Brigadier-General of New York Militia on 9th

June 1776, he commanded a brigade in the Battle

 

 

 

58 History of the Scott Family

 

of Long Island, and was one of the Council of

War summoned by Washington after the battle. He

served later with General Heath in Westchester

County, being wounded at White Plains on 28th

October 1776. He left the army in March 1777

when appointed Secretary of New York State. He

was a Delegate from New York to the Continental

Congress from 1780 until 1783 and died on the

14th September 1784, being buried in Trinity

Churchyard, New York City.

 

In the List of Continental Army Officers, the

following of the name of Scott are mentioned as

holding commissions in that section of the forces

engaged :

 

Brigadier-General Scott, above mentioned.

 

Brigadier-General John Morin Scott, above men-

tioned.

 

Lieutenant-Colonel William Scott, 2nd South

Carolina Regiment, acted as Volunteer in com-

mand of marines on board the schooner "Defence"

for which Congress accorded him a Vote of Thanks ;

in command of Fort and made prisoner on the

capitulation of Fort Moultrie, 14th September 1780,

exchanged and served until end of war.

 

Major William Scott, 1st New Hampshire Regi-

ment, and 16th Continental Infantry, wounded and

taken prisoner.

 

Major Joseph Scott, Sr., commissioned Lieutenant

in 1st Virginia Regiment, 16th September 1775,

Brigade-Major to General Muhlenberg, 28th Au-

gust 1777, wounded at Germantown, but served

until end of war. Joseph Scott, Jr., is mentioned

below.

 

Captain William Scott, 3rd Georgia Regiment

 

 

 

History of the Scott Family 59

 

Captain John Day Scott, Smallwood's Maryland

Regiment, killed at White Plains, 28th October

1776.

 

Captain William Scott, Lieutenant in Sargent's

Massachusetts Regiment, taken prisoner at Bunker

Hill 1775, exchanged, Captain in Henley's Conti-

nental Regiment 1777, transferred to Jackson's

Regiment, 1779.

 

Captain David Scott, 13th Virginia Regiment.

 

Captain George Scott, Lieutenant in Stephenson's

Virginia Rifle Company, Captain Virginia Militia.

 

Captain Joseph Scott, Jr., commissioned Lieu-

tenant in 1st Virginia Regiment, 21st January 1776,

Captain, 12th May 1780, and served until end of

war.

 

Captain James Scott, Virginia Militia.

 

Captain William Scott, Thurston's Continental

Regiment.

 

Captain Ezekiel Scott, 2nd and 22nd Continental

Infantry.

 

Captain Jeremiah Scott, Rhode Island Militia.

 

Captain William Scott, Clotz's Pennsylvania Bat-

talion of the Flying Camp, taken prisoner at Fort

Washington, 16th November 1776.

 

Captain John Budd Scott, 2nd New Jersey Regi-

ment.

 

Lieutenant Benjamin Scott, 2nd New Jersey

Regiment.

 

Lieutenant John Eppis Scott, 15th Virginia Regi-

ment, later known as llth Virginia Regiment.

 

Lieutenant Walter Scott, a Virginia State Regi-

ment.

 

Lieutenant John Scott, Lancaster Co., Pennsyl-

vania Militia.

 

 

 

60 History of the Scott Family

 

Lieutenant Joseph James Scott, South Carolina

Rangers, wounded at Black Mingo, 14th September

1780.

 

Cornet Charles Scott, 1st Continental Dragoons,

also Baylor's Regiment of Dragoons.

 

Ensign James Scott, 7th and 4th Massachusetts

Regiments.

 

Ensign John Scott, 2nd Virginia and 1st Vir-

ginia Regiments.

 

Ensign William Scott, 4th Virginia Regiment.

 

Chaplain Alexander Scott, 1st Georgia Regiment.

 

Hospital Physician and Surgeon Moses Scott.

 

Surgeon's Mate Calvin Scott, 8th Massachusetts

Regiment.

 

From the above names of officers it will be

noted that commissioned officers of the name of

Scott represented eleven of the then thirteen States :

Georgia, Maryland, Massachusetts, Virginia, Con-

necticut, Rhode Island, Pennsylvania, New Jersey,

New York, South Carolina and New Hampshire.

 

In addition to the officers in the Continental

Army, the family name was equally well repre-

sented in the other troops of the different States.

A notable example was the Company of Minute

Men raised by Captain William Scott of Peter-

borough. This Company marched on 20th April

1775 in response to the alarm of 19th April and

included seven Scotts: Captain William Scott in

command, Lieutenant William Scott, Corporal

James Scott and Privates Thomas Scott, John

Scott, William Scott and David Scott. It is not

possible to make individual mention of each hardy

hero of the name of Scott, who braved the horrors

of that memorable war and shared the honor of

 

 

 

History of the Scott Family 61

 

the ultimate victory. There were 150 soldiers and

sailors from the one Colony of Massachusetts alone !

From little Vermont came 26, from Connecticut 36,

from New York 80, and from each of the thirteen

States the old fighting stock came forth to battle.

Mention may, however, be made of the following

who, among others of the name, served as officers

in the Militia and Levies of the States: Major

Abraham Scott of Colonel Jacob Cook's Battalion,

at Battle of Brandywine, September 1777, Battle

of Germantown and in the Jersey Campaign;

Major Ezekiel Scott, New York; Captain Samuel

Scott, Vermont; Captain Daniel Scott, 2nd Lin-

coln Co., Massachusetts Militia; Captain William

Scott, Massachusetts Militia; Captain John Scott,

New York; Captain John Scott, Massachusetts

Militia; Captain William Scott, Virginia; Lieuten-

ant John Scott, Vermont Militia; Lieutenant Jon-

athan Scott, Vermont Militia; Lieutenant David

Scott, Massachusetts Militia; Lieutenant James

Scott, Brigantine "Freedom"; Lieutenant John

Scott, Massachusetts Militia; Lieutenant Moses

Scott, Massachusetts Militia; Lieutenant William

Scott, Massachusetts Militia; Lieutenant Ezekiel

Scott, Westchester County Militia; Lieutenant Ben-

jamin Scott, New Hampshire; Lieutenant John

Scott, New Hampshire; Ensign Jonathan Scott,

Connecticut ; Ensign James Scott, 7th Massachusetts

Militia.

 

On the retirement of Brigadier-General John

Morin Scott from the office of Secretary of New

York State, he was succeeded by his son, John

Allaire Scott, whose only son, John Morin Scott,

born 1789, served in the War of 1812 as Lieutenant

of Cavalry.

 

 

 

62 History of the Scott Family

 

Two Delegates of the name of Scott were mem-

bers of the Continental Congress, Brigadier-General

John Morin Scott, Delegate from New York, 1780-

1783 and Gustavus Scott, Delegate from Mary-

land 1784-1785.

 

The outstanding figure, both in the War of

1812 and the Mexican War, 1846-1848, was Major-

General Winfield Scott. He was born at Laurel

Branch, near Petersburg, Dinwiddie County, Vir-

ginia, on 18th June 1786. His father, William

Scott, served in the Revolutionary War as Lieuten-

ant and afterward Captain in a Virginia Com-

pany. His grandfather, James Scott, claimed de-

scent from the Scotts of Buccleuch, and having

espoused the cause of the Pretender to the Eng-

lish throne, after the defeat at Cullsden, escaped

to Virginia in 1746. Winfield Scott was educated

at William and Mary College, afterward being ad-

mitted to the bar. The prospect of a war with

Great Britain being imminent, he received his

commission as Captain of Artillery in May 1808.

On the formal declaration of war, 18th June 1812,

Scott was assigned to the 2nd Artillery stationed

at Black Rock for the protection of the Navy

Yard. In March 1813 he was appointed Ad-

jutant-General with the rank of Colonel, about the

same time being promoted to be Colonel of his

Regiment. On 9th March 1814 he was appointed

to the rank of Brigadier-General and on 5th July

of the same year won the Battle of Chippewa.

He was severely wounded in the Battle of Lundy's

Lane, but on the 16th of the following October

assumed command of the Tenth Military District

with headquarters at Washington.

 

 

 

History of the Scott Family 63

 

Congress passed a joint resolution complimenting

General Scott for his skill and gallantry in the

Battles of Chippewa and Niagara, further pre-

senting him with a gold medal. The Legislatures

of Virginia and New York also passed resolutions

of thanks. The treaty of peace being signed in

December 1814, General Scott was offered the

appointment of Secretary of War, but having de-

clined on the ground that he was too young, was

intrusted with an important mission to Europe.

On his return, in 1816, he was appointed to the

command of the seaboard with headquarters in the

City of New York. General Scott married Maria

D., daughter of Colonel John Mayo of Richmond,

Virginia, on the llth March 1817. In 1829 he was

assigned to the command of the Eastern Depart-

ment, and in 1832 and following years was em-

ployed in operations against the Indian tribes. On

November 23rd, 1846 he was ordered by Secretary

of War Marcy to take command of the forces

assembled in Mexico. He landed at Vera Cruz

in March 1847, the city capitulating to him the

same month. In April of the same year he won

the Battle of Cerro Gordo, in August the Battle

of Cherubusco, following up these successes with

the Battles of Molino del Rey and Chapultepec.

On September 14th General Scott hoisted the colors

of his country in the capital of Mexico and on

the palace of its government, later concluding an

advantageous peace. Congress again voted Gen-

eral Scott a gold medal. From 1841 to 1861, Gen-

eral Scott was General Commander of the United

States Forces, but on the outbreak of the Civil

War was too infirm to take actual command and

 

 

 

64 History of the Scott Family

 

resigned November 6th 1861. He died at West

Point on the 29th May 1866 and was buried

June 1st in the West Point Cemetery. He had

eight children, Virginia, who died unmarried;

Cornelia, who married Colonel Henry Lee Scott,

Adjutant-General to General Scott for many years;

Camilla, married Gould Hoyt of New York; Ella,

married Carroll McTavish; and two sons and two

daughters who died before reaching maturity.

General Scott was on two occasions an unsuc-

cessful candidate for the Presidency, in his auto-

biography thanking God for his political defeats.

He was of commanding presence, six feet five

inches in height, stately in has manners and ex-

acting in his discipline, with that power which

Carnot calls "the glory of the soldier and the

strength of armies." In the words of his friend

General Wilson, "He has bequeathed to his country

a name pure and unspotted a name than which

the Republic has few indeed that shine with a

brighter luster, and a name that will go down to

future generations with those of the greatest cap-

tains of the nineteenth century."

 

Among the officers in the Regular Army during

the war with Mexico, were the following of the

name of Scott:

 

Colonel Henry Lee Scott, North Carolina, son-

in-law of General Winfield Scott, also aide-de-camp,

mentioned for gallant and meritorious conduct in

the Battles of Contreras, Cherubusco, and Chapul-

tepec, Inspector General United States Army,

 

Major John B. Scott, Connecticut, mentioned for

Colonel 14th May 1861, retired for physical de-

bility 30th October 1861.

 

 

 

History of the Scott Family 65

 

gallant and meritorious conduct in the Battles of

Palo Alto and Resaca de la Palma.

 

Major John M. Scott, Kentucky, mentioned for

gallant and meritorious conduct in the several con-

flicts at Monterey.

 

Major Martin Scott, Vermont, mentioned for

gallant and meritorious conduct in Battles of Palo

Alto, Resaca de la Palma and Monterey, killed at

the head of his regiment in the Battle of Molino

del Rey, 8th September 1847.

 

Captain (afterward Major-General) Robert K.

Scott, Ohio.

 

Captain Henry Scott.

 

Captain Alexander Scott, Georgia.

 

Lieutenant Samuel C. Scott, Louisiana.

 

Lieutenant William H. Scott, Missouri, mentioned

for gallant and meritorious conduct at Battles of

Contreras and Cherubusco.

 

Lieutenant David Scott, Infantry.

 

Among officers of the name of Scott who served

during the Mexican War with the troops of the

different States, were: Captain Robert G. Scott,

1st Virginia Infantry; Captain Robert K. Scott,

1st Pennsylvania Infantry; Lieutenant Alexander

Scott, Pennsylvania Infantry; Lieutenant Charles

G. Scott, 7th New York Infantry; Lieutenant

Cyrus A. Scott, 4th Kentucky Infantry; Lieutenant

John Scott, 3rd Missouri Infantry; Lieutenant Nar-

borne B. Scott, Kentucky Cavalry; Lieutenant

Robert C. Scott, 4th Illinois Infantry; Lieutenant

Walter F. Scott, Arkansas Volunteers; Lieutenant

William A. Scott, 1st Virginia Infantry; Lieuten-

ant William W. Scott, Florida Volunteers.

 

In February 1861, two Presidents, Lincoln and

 

 

 

66 History of the Scott Family

 

Davis, left their homes and set out, the one for

Washington and the other for Montgomery. Early

the same month the Confederate States had been

formed. At half past four on the morning of

April 12th, the first shell burst over Fort Sumter,

inaugurating four years of Civil War.

 

In the Official Records of the Union and Con-

federate Armies, there are 322 entries of the

name of Scott, but these entries do not by any

means indicate the total number of Scotts en-

rolled. The Union records are said to be to a

great extent complete, but those of the Con-

federacy are in many respects deficient. Further,

some of the States and Territories to whom no

quotas were assigned, furnished men and many

men were enrolled on short enlistments. It is

especially worthy of note that the plan of pub-

lication of the Official Records was drawn up by

a Scott, Lieutenant-Colonel Robert N. Scott, being

engaged on the work from 1877 until 1887. Lieu-

tenant-Colonel Robert Nicholson Scott was born at

Winchester, Franklin County, Tennessee, January

21st 1838, the son of W. A. Scott, D.D. Com-

missioned Lieutenant in 4th Infantry, January 1857

and Captain 1861, in which latter year he joined

the Army of the Potomac. Colonel Scott was

wounded and mentioned for gallant and meritori-

ous service in the Battle of Gaines Mill, 27th

June 1862; also was Assistant Adjutant-General

in the formation, by General Casey, of the Pro-

visional Brigades and Divisions. Was Senior Aide-

de-Camp to General Halleck and served at the siege

of Yorktown. Major 1879 and Lieutenant-Colonel

1885. Died 1887.

 

 

 

History of the Scott Family 67

 

Among officers named Scott in the United States

Army in the Civil War were: Lieutenant-General

Winfield Scott; Major-General Robert K. Scott;

Brigadier-General George Washington Scott; Briga-

dier-General Rufus Scott; Lieutenant-Colonel

George Edward Scott; Lieutenant-Colonel Henry

Bruce Scott; Lieutenant-Colonel Robert N. Scott;

Lieutenant-Colonel William H. Scott; Major George

E. Scott; Captain David Wilson Scott; Captain

Douglas Marshall Scott; Captain James Robert

Scott; Captain James W. Scott; Captain Jesse E.

Scott; Captain John N. Scott; Captain Winfield

Scott; Lieutenant Harry E. Scott; Lieutenant John

Scott; Lieutenant David Inglis Scott; Lieutenant

Eben G. Scott.

 

In addition to the numbers of Organizations

which were raised in the States and Territories

during the war, the President ordered drafts and

called for large bodies of Volunteers. The List

of Field Officers of these Volunteer and Militia

Forces contain the names of several Scotts : Colonel

George W. Scott, 61st New York Infantry; Colonel

Harvey D. Scott, Indiana Militia; Colonel John

Scott, Missouri Militia; Colonel John Scott, 32nd

Iowa Infantry; Colonel Joseph R. Scott, 19th

Illinois Infantry; Colonel Robert K. Scott, 68th

Ohio Infantry; Colonel Thomas Scott, 19th Mis-

souri Militia; Colonel William T. Scott, 3rd Ken-

tucky Infantry; Colonel William W. Scott, 43rd

Pennsylvania Militia; Lieutenant-Colonel Alexan-

der Scott, 5th West Virginia Cavalry; Lieutenant-

Colonel Charles Scott, 6th New Hampshire In-

fantry; Lieutenant-Colonel Donald D. Scott, 17th

Wisconsin Infantry; Lieutenant-Colonel George H.

 

 

 

68 History of the Scott Family

 

Scott, 83rd Indiana Infantry; Lieutenant-Colonel

Henry B. Scott, 4th Massachusetts Cavalry; Lieu-

tenant-Colonel Isaac W. Scott, 5th Kentucky Cav-

alry; Lieutenant-Colonel Jefferson K. Scott, 59th

Indiana Infantry; Lieutenant-Colonel John W.

Scott, 3rd Wisconsin Infantry; Lieutenant-Colonel

Newton G. Scott, 46th Indiana Infantry; Lieuten-

ant-Colonel Oliver H. P. Scott, 48th Iowa Infantry;

Lieutenant-Colonel Rufus Scott, 19th New York

Cavalry; Major Eli F. Scott, 83rd Pennsylvania

Infantry; Major George E. Scott, V. R. C.; Major

James N. Scott, 1st Ohio Cavalry; Major Michael

Scott, 29th Pennsylvania Infantry; Major Walter

F. Scott, 120th New York Infantry; Major Wil-

liam Scott, 8th United States Coast Artillery;

Major William F. Scott, 183rd Ohio Infantry;

Major John Scott, Illinois Volunteers.

 

Major-General Robert K. Scott was the third

in succession in a direct line of Scotts who served

in the wars of this country. His grandfather,

Robert Scott, entered the Colonial Army and served

through the war of the Revolution; his father,

John Scott, served in the War of 1812. Major-

General Robert K. Scott was born in Armstrong

County, Pennsylvania, July 8th 1826. On the out-

break of the Civil War he was appointed Major,

with instructions to organize the famous 68th

Regiment of Ohio Volunteers. He took part in

the reduction of Fort Donelson, the two days Battle

at Pittsburg Landing and the siege of Corinth,

and in July 1862 was promoted to the rank of

Colonel. On October 3rd he was assigned to a

Brigade and took part in the Battle of Hatchie

River, receiving honorable mention for gallant con-

 

 

 

History of the Scott Family 69

 

duct and promotion to the command of a Brigade.

Was in action at Port Hudson, Raymond, Jackson

and Champion Hills. He was with General Sher-

man on his march to the Sea and was brevetted

Major-General for his conduct as an officer. In

1868 and 1870 was elected Governor of South

Carolina. He died at Napoleon, Ohio, 13th August

1900.

 

In the other branch of the service of the Union

Forces, the name of Scott was represented with

equal credit by Rear-Admiral Gustavus Hall Scott,

United States Navy. He was born in Virginia

1812, Midshipman 1828, Lieutenant 1841, Captain

1863, Rear-Admiral 1869. Commanded steamer

"Keystone State" 1861, Gunboat "Maratanza" N.

A. B. Squadron 1862-'3, Steamer "De Soto" 1864,

Steamship "Canandaigua" Blockade Squadron 1865

and "Saranac" Pacific Squadron 1866-'7, Rear-

Admiral Scott was Commander-in-Chief of the

North Atlantic Squadron until his retirement on the

13th June 1874. He died at Washington, D. C.,

23rd March 1882.

 

Captain Francis M. Scott was with the Indiana

Volunteers in the first battle of the war at Phil-

lippi, West Virginia, on 3rd June 1861, when

Volunteers from Indiana, West Virginia and Ohio

opposed the Confederate forces. He was born in

Noblesville, Indiana, February 4th 1841, the son

of Samuel Scott whose father and mother had

come to this country in 1811, settling in Pennsyl-

vania. Prior to the war, Captain Scott had or-

ganized a Military Company, which, in response

to President Lincoln's proclamation of 15th April

1861 for 75,000 Militia, immediately responded and

 

 

 

70 History of the Scott Family

 

was mustered in. He was present at the Battles

of Shiloh, Stone River, Chickamauga, Mission

Ridge, Atlanta, Jonesborough and in Kilpatrick's

raid on the Atlanta Railroad in August 1864. His

regiment marched to the Sea with General Sher-

man and took part in the two days fight at

Waynesborough. Captain Scott was wounded in

the leg at the Battle of Stone River and in the

eye at the Battle of Chickamauga. For meritori-

ous conduct in the former battle, he was placed on

the Roll of Honor by General Rosecrans and was

mustered out at Savannah 31st December 1864.

 

Also with the Union forces were Captain John

Scott with the "Black Horse Cavalry" and Captain

Henry D. Scott, 16th Massachusetts Battery. Ad-

jutant William F. Scott, born Dayton, Ohio, 27th

December 1844. Served in the United States Vol-

unteers from private to Adjutant of the 4th Iowa

Cavalry. He was author of "The Historical Roster

of the 4th Iowa Cavalry Veterans" and "The Story

of a Cavalry Regiment."

 

With the Confederate States Army were Briga-

dier-General Thomas B. Scott, son of a former Gov-

ernor of Mississippi ; Colonel John S. Scott in com-

mand of the 1st Louisiana Cavalry, C. S. A., and

Colonel C. W. Scott in command of the 44th Vir-

ginia Infantry C. S. A.

 

Enlisting in the army of the Confederacy in

1861, Major Charles L. Scott was elected Major

of his Regiment and participated in the first

Battle of Manassas, July 1861. He was severely

wounded in the right leg, which wound being

ruptured at the Battle of Seven Pines in 1862,

compelled him to retire from active service.

 

 

 

History of the Scott Family 71

 

John Zachary Halliday Scott, born at Belair,

Spottsylvania County, Virginia, 14th March 1843,

the son of James McClure Scott, was a student

at the University of Virginia at the outbreak of

the War, and enlisted in the Confederate States

Array with the Cavalry of Wise's Legion. Served

in West Virginia under Wise, Floyd and Lee. In

1862 his command was organized into the 10th

Virginia Regiment and was in close and constant

touch with the enemy on Johnston's retreat from

Yorktown. He was also engaged in the Battle of

Williamsburgh and included in Johnston's capitula-

tion of Goldsboro, 26th April 1865. In 1869 he was

admitted to the bar and practiced law.

 

Colonel Thomas Morton Scott of the Confederate

States Army was born at Cadiz, Ohio, on 25th June

1824. He traced his descent from Thomas Scott,

an English Member of Parliament, who was one

of the committee which signed the death warrant

of Charles I. Colonel Scott served as Sergeant-

Major in the Mexican War, being present at the

Battles of Monterey and Buena Vista. On the

outbreak of the Civil War he raised Company I,

9th Texas Infantry of the Confederate Army,

serving throughout the war as Captain. In 1865

he was assigned to duties in connection with the

settlement of Indian treaties and later was ap-

pointed Colonel on Governor Roberts staff.

 

An artist of army life and scenes in the Civil

War, Julian Scott was born at Johnson, Lamoille

County, Vermont, in 1846. He served in the Na-

tional Army on the opening of the war in 1861

and while in a Military Hospital, his sketches

attracted much attention. He consequently became

 

 

 

72 History of the Scott Family

 

a student at the National Academy, New York,

in 1863. Among his principal pictures are: "The

Blue and Gray," "In the Cornfield at Antietam,"

"Reserves Awaiting Orders," "Rear Guard at White

Oak Swamp."

 

A report concerning Halleck's Army on the

banks of the Tennessee, states: "With it, but not

of it" was "the Assistant Secretary of War, Thomas

A. Scott, the railway king of the future, who had

come to advise and assist Halleck." Colonel Scott

was the first Assistant Secretary of War, com-

missioned under the Act of 3rd August 1861. He

was born at Loudon, Pennsylvania, 28th December

1824, being son of Thomas Scott, the keeper of

"Tom Scott's Tavern" on the old turnpike between

Philadelphia and Pittsburg. He entered the em-

ploy of the Pennsylvania Railroad Co. when it was

but partly constructed, being chosen as Vice-Presi-

dent in 1860. At the outbreak of the Civil War,

Governor Curtin placed him in charge of the

equipment and transportation of the State troops.

He was commissioned Colonel of Volunteers in

May 1861. He held office as Assistant Secretary

of War during Simon Cameron's unfortunate tenure

of the office of Secretary, Colonel Scott, however,

being known as a competent Assistant Secretary,

whose work was always efficient. When, in Jan-

uary 1862, the President dismissed Cameron and

made the admirable choice of Stanton for Sec-

retary of War, Colonel Scott remained as As-

sistant Secretary until June 1862, when he re-

signed to return to his railroad work. In Septem-

ber 1862, General Rosecrans' Army being cut off

and needing reinforcements, Scott directed the

 

 

 

History of the Scott Family 73

 

transportation of two Army Corps to its relief.

He became President of the Pennsylvania Co.

organized in 1871 to operate the Western lines,

President of the Union Pacific for one year from

March 1871 and succeeded to the Presidency of

the Pennsylvania Railroad Co. in 1874. He also

projected the Texas Pacific Railroad Co., being for

many years its President. Resigned as President

of the Pennsylvania Railroad Co. in 1880 and died

at Darby, Pennsylvania, 21st May 1881.

 

 

 

 

CHAPTER VI.

 

NT A PRECEDING chapter we have seen

that the earliest colonists of the name

of Scott settled, in the main, in Vir-

ginia and the Colony of Massachusetts.

During the settlement of the American Colonies,

branches of the family were, however, more com-

mon in the South than in the North, conformity

to the State Church in Massachusetts, before being

admitted to citizenship, proving somewhat of a

deterrent to settlement in that Colony. In order

to obtain lands for themselves, we therefore

find, in the North, later arrivals settling inland

or on the frontier, taking up lands in the in-

terior of Pennsylvania and in New Hampshire,

Vermont and Maine. In the South, the Atlantic

Coast line became, by degrees, well occupied, and

Scotts who had landed in Virginia scattered through

the foothill regions and North and South Caro-

lina. Gradually, branches of the family pushed

further West, across the mountains into Ohio,

Kentucky and Tennessee, joining the company of

virile and aggressive pioneers, who, carving perma-

nent footholds out of the wild, sent, in their turn,

sons and daughters to take part in developing

and winning the West. In the West and Northwest

most of those bearing the name are probably

descended from the Southern branches or of late

immigration.

In every State and Territory, the hardy Scotts

 

74

 

 

 

History of the Scott Family 75

 

have been pioneers and men of action, taking

such active part in the strenuous movements of

American life, that today the name is found in

every branch of politics, arms, industry and busi-

ness. They have contributed professors and teachers

to the universities, colleges and schools of their

country; bishops and clergymen, judges and law-

yers, bearing the name, have furnished strength to

its religious and judicial life, and writers and

painters have added to its literature and art.

 

In the political life of the country the family

has been represented in both houses of Congress:

 

John Scott was United States Senator from Penn-

sylvania from 1869-1875. He was born at Alex-

andria, Pennsylvania, 24th July 1824. Admitted

to the bar 1846, he practiced law in Huntingdon,

Pennsylvania, 1846-1849. Elected member of the

State Legislature 1862. Son of John Scott, Rep-

resentative from Pennsylvania in the 21st United

States Congress.

 

Nathan Bay Scott, United States Senator from

West Virginia, 1899, re-elected 1905, serving from

1899 until 1911. Born Guernsey County, Ohio,

18th December 1842. He was engaged in mining

in Colorado from 1859-1862. Enlisted as private

in the Union Army and mustered out 1865. He

then engaged in the manufacture of glass at

Wheeling, West Virginia, and was elected State

Senator 1882 and 1886. Commissioner of Internal

Revenue 1898. Later engaged in banking in Wash-

ington, D. C.

 

Thomas Scott was member of the House of Rep-

resentatives from Pennsylvania in the 1st and 3rd

Congresses, 1789-1781 and 1793-1795. He was a

native of Ohio.

 

 

 

76 History of the Scott Family

 

John Scott, Representative from Missouri to the

17th, 18th and 19th Congresses, served from 1821-

1827. Born in Hanover County, Virginia, 18th

May 1785, graduated from Princeton College 1807

and admitted to the bar 1806. He was Delegate

from Missouri Territory to the 14th Congress and

served from 2nd December 1816 to January 13th

1817 when the seat was declared vacant. Elected

Delegate to the 15th and 16th Congresses, 1817-

1821, when Missouri becoming a State he was

elected Representative.

 

John Scott, Representative from Pennsylvania

to the 21st Congress, 1829-1831. He was a native

of Marsh Creek, near Gettysburg, Pennsylvania,

and was in business as a tanner and shoemaker.

 

Harvey D. Scott, born in Ohio, was Representa-

tive from Indiana to the 34th Congress 1855-1857.

For many years Judge of the Superior Court at

Terre Haute.

 

Charles L. Scott, Representative from California

to the 35th and 36th Congresses, 1857-1861. Born

Richmond, Virginia, 23rd January 1827, graduated

from William and Mary College, he was admitted

to the bar and practiced law in Richmond, Virginia,

and later in Sonora, California.

 

John G. Scott, Representative from Missouri to

the 38th Congress 1863-1865. Born Philadelphia,

Pennsylvania, 26th December 1819, he moved to

Missouri and engaged in mining.

 

William L. Scott, Representative from Pennsyl-

vania to 49th and 50th Congresses, 1885-1889. He

was a native of Washington, D. C., born 2nd

July 1829, and settled in Erie, Pennsylvania, en-

gaging in coal and shipping business, also con-

 

 

 

History of the Scott Family 77

 

struction and operation of railroads. Mayor of

Erie 1866 and 1871.

 

Owen Scott, Representative from Illinois to 52nd

Congress 1891-1893. Born Jackson Township, Ef-

fingham County, Illinois. Superintendent of Schools.

Admitted to the bar January 1874, he practiced

law for ten years, later engaging in newspaper

work and becoming manager of the Decatur Herald.

 

Charles Frederick Scott, Representative from

Kansas to 57th, 58th, 59th and 69th Congresses

1901-1911. Born Allen County, Kansas, 7th Sep-

tember 1860. Graduated University of Kansas

1881. Editor of lola Register.

 

George Cromwell Scott, Representative from

Iowa to 62nd and 63rd Congresses, 1911-1915 and

to 65th Congress 1917-1919. Born Monroe County,

New York, 8th August 1864, he removed to Dallas

County, Iowa, 1880. Admitted to the bar of

Supreme Court of Iowa, 1887.

 

John R. K. Scott, Representative from Penn-

sylvania to 64th and 65th Congresses, 1915-1919.

Born Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania, and admitted to

the bar December 1895. Member of House of

Representatives of Pennsylvania 1899, 1908, 1910,

1912.

 

Frank Douglas Scott, Representative from Michi-

gan to 64th, 65th and 66th Congresses. Born

Alpena, Michigan. Graduated from the Law De-

partment, University of Michigan, 1901. Was five

years member of Michigan State Senate. Presi-

dent pro tempore of Senate 1913-1914.

 

Connected with the 66th Congress, now in ses-

sion, are the names of, Robert T. Scott, Private

Secretary to the Attorney- General ; Walter P.

 

 

 

78 History of the Scott Family

 

Scott, Assistant Librarian of the Senate; Hugh

L. Scott, Board of Indian Commissioners; Emmett

J. Scott, A.M. LL.D., Secretary-Treasurer of How-

ard University; George E. Scott of the American

Steel Foundries, a Vice Chairman of the American

National Red Cross.

 

Frank A. Scott of Cleveland, Ohio, was Chair-

man of the War Industries Board. He resigned

26th October 1917.

 

Three members of the family have been Gover-

nors of States:

 

Charles Scott, who was mentioned in Chapter V,

was Governor of Kentucky from 1808 to 1812.

 

Abram M. Scott was the 7th Governor of Missis-

sippi, 1832-1833. He was a native of South Caro-

lina, but at an early age went to Mississippi. In

1811 he was in command of a company on an

expedition against the Creek Indians. He became

a leading planter and was one of the five Repre-

sentatives from Mississippi in the first State Con-

stitutional Convention in 1817. He represented

Wilkinson County for several terms in the State

Legislature, and served twice as Lieutenant-Gov-

ernor. His term as Governor was notable for the

Constitutional Convention of 1832, which recon-

structed the laws of the State, among other changes

being the provision for a Judiciary elected by the

people, Mississippi being the first State in the

Union to so enact. Governor Scott died in office

from Asiatic cholera, which raged through the

Mississippi Valley 1832-1833. He died 12th June

1833. His son Thomas B. Scott was a Brigadier-

General in the Army of the Confederacy.

 

Major-General Robert K. Scott, Governor of

 

 

 

History of the Scott Family 79

 

South Carolina, 1868 and 1870. Served in the

Civil War as described in Chapter V.

 

The Judiciary and Bar of the different States

contain many representatives of the name of

Scott, distinguished among whom may be men-

tioned :

 

Thomas Scott, Chief Justice of Ohio, 1810, was

born at Skipton on the Potomac, October 31st 1772.

At the age of seventeen he was licensed by Bishop

Asbury, to preach in the Methodist Episcopal

Church, also following the trade of a tailor. He

studied law and in 1801 removed to Chillcothe,

Ohio, where he commenced the practice of that

profession. He was the first Justice of the Peace

appointed after Ohio became a State. Was clerk

of the State Senate from 1804 to 1809, when he

was appointed Judge of the Supreme Court of

Ohio. In the following year he became Chief

Justice, which office he held for five years. Mar-

ried in 1796 to Catherine Wood. He died at

Chillicothe, Ohio, 17th February 1856.

 

William Scott, Chief Justice of Missouri, 1854

to 1862. Born at Warrenton, Fauquier County,

Virginia, 7th June 1804. Admitted to the bar

1825. In 1826 he went to Franklin, Missouri,

where he began practice. Appointed Judge of

the 9th Judicial Circuit of Missouri in 1835, he

was promoted to the Supreme Court in 1841 and

became Chief Justice in 1854. Died at Jefferson

City, Missouri, 18th May 1862.

 

Josiah Scott, Chief Justice of Ohio, 1856. He

was born in Washington County, Pennsylvania,

1st ^December 1803. Graduated from Jefferson Col-

lege 1823, admitted to the bar and practiced law

 

 

 

80 History of the Scott Family

 

at Bucyrus, Ohio. Was elected to the State Legis-

lature in 1840, and to the Supreme Court of Ohio

in 1856, and served as Chief Justice. He retired

to resume law practice and died at Bucyrus, Ohio r

1879.

 

John M. Scott, Chief Justice of Illinois; born

St. Clair County, Illinois, 16th August 1824. He

was admitted to the bar in 1848 when he took up

residence in McLean County, where he practiced

law for a period of fifty years. In 1852 he was

elected Judge of the County Court. In 1862 he

succeeded to a vacancy in the Circuit Court, being

re-elected without opposition at the end of his term.

Elected to the Supreme Court and re-elected for

a second term in 1879, being the first native born

citizen of Illinois to hold that position. He served

as Chief Justice for three terms, 1875, 1882,

1886.

 

Elmon Scott, Chief Justice of Washington, 1897,

was born at Isle la Motte, Vermont, November 6th,

1863. Was admitted to the bar and in 1881 re-

moved to Pomeroy, Washington. Elected Mayor

for several terms. In 1889 was elected to the

Supreme Bench, re-elected 1892 and in 1897 became

Chief Justice of the State. Served for over nine

years on the Supreme Bench until he declined

renomination.

 

Guy Charles Scott, Chief Justice of Illinois,

1906. Born Henderson County, Illinois, 14th Au-

gust 1863. Admitted to the bar 1886. Justice of

the Supreme Court of Illinois 1903.

 

Henry Wilson Scott, United States District Judge

for Oklahoma Territory 1893-1896, was born Sanga-

mon County, Illinois, 26th January 1866. Admitted

 

 

 

History of the Scott Family 81

 

to the bar 1884, he was appointed Register, United

States Land Office, Larned, Kansas, 1889. United

States District Judge 1893. Author of "Probate

Law and Practice," "Distinguished American Law-

yers" "The Laws of Nations," "The Corporate In-

stitution" and other legal works.

 

Francis Markoe Scott, Justice of the Supreme

Court of New York, 1897-1918. Born New York,

14th March 1848. A.B. College of the City of

New York, 1867 ; A.M. 1869 ; LL.B. Columbia Uni-

versity 1869.

 

Richard Henry Scott, Justice of the Supreme

Court of Wyoming, 1906.

 

Tully Scott, Associate Justice Supreme Court of

Colorado, 1913, was born at St. Paris, Ohio, 12th

July 1857 and admitted to the Kansas bar, 1880.

Elected Presiding Judge, Colorado Court of Ap-

peals, and Associate Justice Supreme Court of

Colorado, 1913. State Senator 1907-1911.

 

Judge Walter N. Scott of Greenville, South Caro-

lina.

 

Judge H. William Scott of Vermont.

 

Sutton Selwyn Scott, Lawyer, was born at Hunts-

ville, Alabama, 26th November 1829. Was mem-

ber of the Alabama Legislature 1857-1860 and Con-

federate Commissioner of Indian Affairs, 1863.

Member of the Legislature from Russel County,

Alabama, 1884-1890. United States Commissioner

to adjudicate claims in New Mexico and Colorado

1885-1887. Author of "The Mobilians," "South-

brooke" and many articles in periodicals.

 

Ruf us Leonard Scott, Lawyer, born Lanesborough,

Massachusetts, 31st March 1835. Descendant in

the sixth generation of William Scott, who settled

 

 

 

82 History of the Scott Family

 

in Hatfield, Massachusetts, about 1668. R. L. Scott

was admitted to the New York bar, 1861, and

practiced in New York City.

 

James Brown Scott, Lawyer, was born at Kin-

cardine, Bruce County, Ontario, Canada, 3rd June

in 1866. A.B. Harvard, 1890; A.M. 1891. Prac-

ticed law at Los Angeles, California, 1894-1899,

where he organized the Los Angeles Law School

in 1896. Dean 1896-1899. Professor of Law at

Columbia University, University of Chicago and

George Washington University. Solocitor for the

Department of State and Secretary of the Car-

negie Endowment for International Peace. Pub-

lished "Diplomatic Documents Relating to the Out-

break of the European War"; "An International

Court of Justice" and similar works.

 

Joseph Scott, Lawyer, born at Penrith, Cumber-

land, England, 16th July 1867. Came to America

1889. A.M. St. Bonaventure's College, Allegany

1893; LL.D. 1914. Admitted to bar 1894, practic-

ing in Los Angeles, California. President of Cham-

ber of Commerce 1910. Honorary Vice-President,

Panama-Pacific International Exposition.

 

Albert Woodburn Scott, Jr., Lawyer, was born at

San Francisco, November 6th 1869. A.B. Univer-

sity of California, 1891. Practiced law 1895-1899,

being later engaged in industrial affairs. Director,

Panama-Pacific International Exposition, President

San Francisco Street Repair Association 1906-1907,

Civic League of Improvement Clubs 1907-1909.

 

Austin Wakeman Scott, lawyer and Professor of

Law, born New Brunswick, New Jersey, 31st Au-

gust 1884. A.B. Rutgers College 1903 ; LL.B. Har-

vard 1909. Admitted to New York Bar 1910 ; Mass-

 

 

 

History of the Scott Family 83

 

achusetts Bar 1911. Professor Havard Law School

1914. Author of "Cases on Civil Procedure."

 

Frederick Andrew Scott, Lawyer, born Terryville,

Connecticut, 8th November 1866. B.A. Yale 1889;

LL.B. 1891. Member Connecticut House of Repre-

sentatives 1905, 1909, 1911. Speaker of the House

1911.

 

The family of Scott also contributed its quota

of willing and devoted workers in founding and

building up the churches of different denominations.

 

Thomas Fielding Scott was the first Protestant

Episcopal Bishop of Oregon and Washington, and

sixtieth in succession in the American Episcopate.

He was born in Iredale County, North Carolina,

12th March 1807. Graduated from the University

of Georgia (then Franklin College) in 1829. Rector

of St. James Church, Marietta and Trinity Church,

Columbus. Elected Bishop 1853 and consecrated

1854, he served his Diocese until his death in

1867.

 

Levi Scott, Methodist Episcopal Bishop. Born

near Odessa, Delaware, llth October 1802. Elected

and ordained Bishop in 1852. The degree of M.A.

was conferred upon him by Wesleyan University

and that of D.D. by Delaware College. He died

at Odessa, Delaware, 13th July 1882.

 

Job Scott, born at Providence, Rhode Island,

18th October 1751 was in the sixth generation from

Richard Scott of Providence and Catherine Mar-

bury, referred to in Chapter IV. He was a Min-

ister of the Society of Friends and a writer and

speaker of remarkable vigor. He made long jour-

neys among the Friends, and finally to Ireland,

where he died on 22d November 1793.

 

 

 

84 History of the Scott Family

 

Walter Scott, one of the Founders of the Disci-

ples or Campbellites, was born at Moffat, Dum-

frieshire, Scotland, 31st October 1796. He was

educated at the University of Edinburgh and came

to this country in 1818. He died at May's Lick,

Kentucky, 23rd April 1861.

 

Orange Scott, born at Brookfield, Vermont, 13th

February 1800. Was ordained Methodist Clergy-

man 1822, and ranked among the most prominent

preachers. He left the Church in 1842 and organ-

ized the Wesleyan Methodist Church of which he

was President. He died at Newark, New Jersey,

1847.

 

Other distinguished clergymen bearing the name

in the earlier history of the Churches in America

were:

 

William Anderson Scott who was born at Rock

Creek, Bedford County, Tennessee, 13th January

1813 and entered the Presbyterian ministry in

1835. Was editor of "The Presbyterian" for three

years and pastor of the Forty-second Street Church,

New York City, from 1863 to 1870. Also of St.

John, San Francisco, 1870. D.D. University of

Alabama, 1844; LL.D. University of City of New

York, 1872. Died, San Francisco 14th January 1885.

 

Also Hugh McDonald Scott, born Guysborough,

Nova Scotia, 31st March 1848 and ordained to the

Congregational ministry 1874. Professor of Ec-

clesiastical History at Chicago Theological Semi-

nary.

 

The name of Scott has been remarkably promi-

nent in educational work, among those notable being :

 

Walter Q. Scott, President of the Ohio State

University, 1881-1883. Born at Dayton, Ohio,

 

 

 

History of the Scott Family 85

 

1841. He enlisted in the Union Army during the

Civil War, serving in Sherman's Cavalry until peace

was declared. He then graduated at Lafayette Col-

lege, Easton, Pennsylvania, and was ordained in

February 1874, being installed as pastor of the

Arch Street Presbyterian Church, Philadelphia,

from which he resigned to become Professor of

Philosophy at Wooster University.

 

William Henry Scott, President of Ohio Univer-

sity, 1873-1883, and of Ohio State University, 1883-

1895 in succession to the above Walter Q. Scott.

Born at Chauncey, Ohio, 14th September 1840.

Graduated at Ohio University, 1862. Superinten-

dent of Public Schools, Athens, Ohio. Principal of

Preparatory Department of Ohio University. En-

tered the ministry of the Methodist Episcopal

Church 1865; Professor of Greek, Ohio University,

1869, and President 1873, resigning to become

President of Ohio State University.

 

Austin Scott, President of Rutgers College, 1890.

Born, Maumee, near Toledo, Ohio, 10th August

1848. B.A. Yale; A.M. University of Michigan;

Ph.D. Leipsic. In 1872 in Europe in connection

with the arbitration between Great Britain and

the United States. Organized the Seminary of

American History at Johns Hopkins University;

Professor of History, Rutgers College, 1883 ; Presi-

dent, 1890. Author of "A History of New Jersey"

and other works.

 

John W. Scott, born Beaver County, Pennsyl-

vania, 22nd January 1800. Graduated Washington

College, Pennsylvania, 1823. Professor of Natural

Science, Washington College, 1824-1828 and Miami

University 1838-1845. Ordained in Presbyterian

 

 

 

86 History of the Scott Family

 

Church 1830. D.D., 1837. Professor at Oxford

Female College for ten years. Professor, Hanover

College, 1860-1868. Principal of Presbyterian

Academy, Springfield, Illinois, and Jefferson, Penn-

sylvania. Retired in 1881, after fifty-seven years

teaching. His daughter, Caroline Scott, married

President Benjamin Harrison, and Dr. Scott was

member of the Presidential family at the White

House until his death, November 29th 1892.

 

Angelo Cyrus Scott, born Franklin, Indiana, 25th

September 1857. Graduated University of Kansas,

1877, A.M., 1880; LL.M. Columbia University Law

School, 1885; Executive Commissioner for Ok-

lahoma, World's Columbian Exposition, 1893. Mem-

ber Territorial Senate, 1895.

 

William Berryman Scott, born Cincinnati, Ohio,

12th February 1858. Graduated Princeton Uni-

versity, 1877. Studied Royal School of Medicine,

London. Ph.D. University of Heidelberg; Sc.D.

Harvard, 1909; Oxford, 1912. Blair Professor of

Geology, Princeton, 1883. Author of "An Intro-

duction to Geology" and many reports and mono-

graphs.

 

Charlotte Angas Scott, born Lincoln, England.

B.Sc. London, 1882; D.Sc., 1885. Head of De-

partment of Mathematics, Bryn Mawr College,

Pennsylvania, 1885. Author "On the Circuit of

Plane Curves" and other treatises.

 

Fred. Newton Scott, born Terre Haute, Indiana,

20th August 1860. Son of Harvey D. Scott, mem-

ber of 34th Congress. A.B. University of Michigan,

1884; M.A., 1888; Ph.D., 1889. One year at Uni-

versity of Munich, Instructor of English, Uni-

versity of Michigan, 1889-1890 ; Assistant Professor

 

 

 

History of the Scott Family 87

 

of Rhetoric, 1890-1896; Junior Professor, 1896-

1901; Professor of Rhetoric, 1901. Author of

"Aesthetics" ; "Principles of Style" ; "The Standard

of American Speech"; "The Genesis of Speech";

and joint author of many works.

 

William Amasa Scott, born Clarkson, Monroe

County, New York, 17th April 1862. A.M. Uni-

versity of Rochester, 1889; LL.D., 1911; Ph.D.

Johns Hopkins University, 1892. Professor, Uni-

versity of South Dakota, Johns Hopkins University

and University of Wisconsin. Author of "Repudia-

tion of State Debts," "Money and Banking,"

"Money" and other works on economic subjects.

 

George Winfield Scott, born Adams, New York,

25th August 1875. A.B. Stamford University, 1896 ;

Cornell University, 1896-1898. Fellow of University

of Chicago, 1899-1900; Columbia University, 1900-

1901 ; University of Pennsylvania, 1901-1902 ; LL.B.

University of Pennsylvania, 1901. In Europe for

Library of Congress to report on law and docu-

mentary literature to be acquired, 1904. Professor

of Law, George Washington University, 1905-1906;

Law Librarian of Congress and Supreme Court,

1903-1907; Professor of International Law, Uni-

versity of Pennsylvania and Columbia University.

Author of "Naturalization of Aliens"; "The Ger-

man War Code."

 

Mary Augusta Scott, Professor of English, A.B.,

A.M., Vassar College. First woman Fellow of

Yale University, 1892-1894; Professor of English

Language and Literature, Smith College, 1902.

 

William Earl Dodge Scott, born Brooklyn, New

York; B.Sc. Harvard, 1873; curator of Depart-

ment of Ornithology, Princeton University; author

of "Bird Studies" and technical works.

 

 

 

88 History of the Scott Family

 

Nathan Stone Scott, M.D. Oberlin College, 1885-

1887 ; Western Reserve University, 1889 ; Dean and

Professor of Surgery, Cleveland College.

 

Walter Dill Scott, Professor of Psychology,

Northwestern University, 1908-1916.

 

Colin Alexander Scott, Ph.D. Clark University,

Worcester, Massachusetts ; Professor of Psychology.

 

William B. Scott, Professor, Princeton Univers-

ity; lecturer and writer.

 

Jonathan French Scott, Instructor in History,

University of Michigan.

 

John W. Scott, Professor, University of Wyom-

ing.

 

Arthur Curtis Scott, Professor of Physics and

Engineering, Rhode Island State College; Professor

of Electrical Engineering, University of Texas.

 

It is not possible, in a work of this nature, to

enumerate all members of the great fellowship of

Scotts who have entered into, and succeeded in,

every field of endeavor connected with the industry

and business of the country.

 

Irving Murray Scott, Shipbuilder and Ironmaster,

was born at Hebron Mills, Baltimore County, Mary-

land, 25th December 1837. He learned the iron

and woodworking trades under Obed Hussey, the

inventor of the reaping machine. In 1860 he was

engaged at the Union Iron Works, San Francisco,

becoming Superintendent in 1863 and finally Gen-

eral Manager. Made a close study of industrial

establishments in Europe. Was one of three ap-

pointed to meet the Japanese Embassy in 1879. Re-

gent of the University of California, Trustee of

Leland Stanford University. In 1891, President

of the California Commissioners to the World's

Fair.

 

 

 

History of the Scott Family 89

 

Charles Felton Scott, Electrical Engineer, was

born Athens County, Ohio, 19th September 1864.

He was educated at Ohio and Johns Hopkins Uni-

versities. Assisted Nicola Tesla in the develop-

ment of his induction motors and later became

Chief Electrician of the Westinghouse Electric &

Manufacturing Co. Widely known in the electrical

profession, he has written many papers read before

Electrical Engineering bodies. President of the

American Institute of Electrical Engineers 1902-

1903.

 

William R. Scott, Vice-President and General

Manager of the Southern Pacific Co., was born

8th November 1860 and began as locomotive fire-

man.

 

Frederic William Scott, Banker, was born Peters-

burg, Virginia, 30th August 1862. In March

1918 he was appointed member of the Division

of Finance and Purchases under the United States

Railroad Administration.

 

George Scott, native of Glasgow, Superintendent

of the Gold & Stock Telegraph Co., a branch of

the Western Union, invented and developed the

modern "ticker."

 

Edwin Scott, for many years proprietor of the

Scott Mills, New York City, was a native of

Greene County, New York.

 

Frank Hall Scott, President of the Century Co.,

with which company he was actively connected

for forty years.

 

Isaac M. Scott of Wheeling, West Virginia, Presi-

dent of the Wheeling Steel Works.

 

Holton H. Scott, born in Canada, General Man-

ager of the Doherty Operating Co.

 

 

 

90 History of the Scott Family

 

E. W. Scott, President of the Provident Savings

Life Assurance Co., New York.

 

E. H. Scott, of Chicago, President of Scott,

Foreman & Co.

 

Colonel Walter Scott, President of Butler

Brothers of New York. Colonel of the New York

Scottish Regiment.

 

F. B. Scott, President of the Syracuse Sup-

ply Co.

 

Thomas A. Scott of New London, Connecticut,

President of P. A. Scott Towing, Pile Driving and

Wharf Building Co.; appointed member of United

States Shipping Board, 28th May 1919.

 

If Johnson's dictum "The chief glory of every

people arises from its authors," be applied to a

family, then the Scotts can take much glory to

themselves. As will be seen from the preceding

records of American members of the family, many

were writers on a variety of legal, historical and

educational subjects, and to these may be added a

goodly list of authors and editors, bearing the

name, who have made noteworthy contribution to

American literature.

 

Henry Lee Scott, son-in-law of General Winfield

Scott, and already referred to in another chapter,

was the author of "A Military Democracy" and

"A Military Dictionary."

 

Robert N. Scott, Army Officer, already mentioned

as in charge of the publication of the Civil War

Records, published "A Digest of the Military Laws

of the United States." He was born in 1838, son

of William Anderson Scott, below named.

 

John Reed Scott, Author and Lawyer, born

Gettysburg, Pennsylvania, 1869. He first book was

 

 

 

History of the Scott Family 91

 

published in 1906, "The Colonel of the Red Hus-

sars," followed, among others, by "Beatrix of

Clare"; "The Princess of Dehra"; "The Woman

in Question" ; "The Cab of the Sleeping Horse."

 

Leroy Scott, born Fairmont, Indiana, 1875; Edi-

tor of Woman's Home Companion, 1900-1901; Au-

thor, "The Walking Delegate"; "To Him That

Hath"; "No. 13 Washington Square"; "The Shears

of Destiny."

 

Anna Miller Scott, born Lockport, Illinois; Au-

thor, "With the Fairies"; "Flower Babies" and

other works.

 

Lucy Jameson Scott, Author, "Santa Glaus

Stories"; "David Douglas and His Wife"; "Gilead

Guards"; "In Circles of Light."

 

Mansfield Scott, Author of "Behind Red Cur-

tains."

 

Julia Scott, pen name of Mary A. Owen, Author

of "Voodoo Tales"; "Folklore of the Musquakie

Indians."

 

Temple Scott, author, "The Friendship of Books" ;

"The Pleasure of Reading"; "The Use of Leisure";

"A Museum for a Poet."

 

Winfield Lionel Scott, Author of "Azure and

Silver" and other poems.

 

John Scott of Philadelphia published "Pulpit

Echoes" and other religious works.

 

William Scott, Author and Clergyman, born Am-

sterdam, New York, Author of "The Heart of

Faith."

 

William Anderson Scott, Presbyterian Clergy-

man of San Francisco, was the Author of "The

Bible and Politics"; "The Church in the Army."

 

John Milton Scott, Author, "I Am"; "The Soul

of Socialism."

 

 

 

92 History of the Scott Family

 

Martin J. Scott, Author, "God and Myself" ; "The

Hand of God."

 

Thomas Bodley Scott, Author, "The Road to a

Healthy Old Age."

 

Emma Scott, Author of "How the Flag Became

Old Glory."

 

William Rufus Scott, Author of "The Itching

Palm," a treatise on the American tipping system.

 

Samuel Parsons Scott of Hillsboro, Ohio, Lawyer,

Author of "Through Spain" ; "History of the Moor-

ish Empire in Europe" ; also many translations.

 

Harry Fletcher Scott, Author of numerous edu-

cational works.

 

David B. Scott, Author of "Scott's History of the

United States" and other histories.

 

William J. Scott, Author "Historic Eras and

Paragraphic Pencilings."

 

Charles A. Scott, Author of "The Chinese Arbor

Vitae" ; "Provisions of the State Forest Laws."

 

William Moore Scott published numerous works

on plant culture.

 

John M. Scott, Author "Milk Production"; "Pig

Feeding" and other works on farm management.

 

Eugene Wiley Scott, Author of entomological

works, published by the Department of Agricul-

ture and the Entomology Bureau.

 

Frank Jesup Scott, Author of several pamphlets,

"Property Without Price"; "Evolution of Suf-

frage"; "Communism" and others; descended from

Thomas Scott, who settled in Hartford, October

1636.

 

Geneo C. Scott, Author of "Fishing in American

Waters."

 

Charles Scott of Tennessee published "The Anal-

 

 

 

History of the Scott Family 93

 

ogy of Ancient Craft Masonry to Natural and

Revealed Religion" and other masonic composi-

tions.

 

George Scott, himself a pilot, published "Scott's

New Coast Pilot for the Lakes."

 

Harvey W. Scott, Editor, born in Illinois, re-

moved to Oregon and in 1864 went to Portland,

becoming editor and part owner of "The Ore-

gonian." He declined appointment as Ambassador

to Mexico.

 

Jesup Wakeman Scott, Editor and writer on In-

ternal trade and growth of cities. He gave the

land to the City of Toledo, which enabled that

city to establish a University of Arts and Trades.

 

James W. Scott, born Walworth County, Wis-

consin, 1849. His father, D. Wilmot Scott, was

editor and proprietor of a newspaper in Galena,

Illinois. In 1875, James W. Scott removed to

Chicago and purchased the "Daily National Hotel

Register." In May 1881, in connection with other

journalists from the city dailies, he organized and

established the "Chicago Herald," and in 1890 the

"Chicago Evening Post."

 

Robert Scott, a native of Partick, Scotland, came

to America in 1883. Editor of the "Homiletic

Review" 1905; collaborator, "Modern Sermons by

World Scholars"; "The Church, The People and

The Age"; "The World's Devotional Classics."

 

Charles Payson Gurley Scott, Etymological Edi-

tor of the Century Dictionary.

 

Richard John Ernst Scott, born England 1863;

B.A. Durham University, England, 1885; M.D.

Cornell University Medical School, New York,

1899; author, State Board Examination Series and

edited numerous medical works.

 

 

 

94 History of the Scott Family

 

William W. Scott, Editor of many works on

motor car operation.

 

The family of Scotts is also represented in the

kindred arts of painting, music and the drama.

 

Julian Scott and his pictures of scenes of the

Civil War have been referred to in Chapter V.

 

Jeannette Scott exhibited in the Societe Na-

tionale des Beaux Arts, Paris, and at the Chicago

Exposition, Pennsylvania Academy and New York

Academy.

 

Emily Maria Scott, born Springwater, Livingston

County, New York, exhibited a large still life

picture in the Paris Salon, 1889; also "Yellow

Roses" and "Pink Roses"; medal Chicago Exposi-

tion 1893. Roses were her principal study.

 

Alfred Atwood Scott, born Chillicothe, Ohio,

1857; Organist and Teacher of Music for 35

years. Organist St. Paul's Episcopal Church, Chil-

licothe for 21 years; organist of St. Andrews

Protestant Episcopal Church, Aberdeen, Washing-

ton.

 

Carlyle Scott, Pianist; Professor of Music, Uni-

versity of Minnesota.

 

John Prindle Scott, Composer, born Norwich,

New York, 1877; composer of songs and quartets;

also a trio "Nocturne."

 

Henri Scott, Basso, born Coatesville, Pennsyl-

vania, 1876; oratorio singer, also sang on concert

tour with Caruso, 1908; leading basso, Manhat-

tan Opera House, New York ; Rome ; Chicago Grand

Opera Co. and Metropolitan Opera House, New

York.

 

John R. Scott, Actor, born Philadelphia, Penn-

sylvania, 1805. He made his first appearance at

 

 

 

History of the Scott Family 95

 

the Park Theatre, New York, in 1829, as Malcolm

in Macbeth. He next appeared as "Peter" in "Speed

the Plough" at the Tremont Theatre, Boston. He

was the original Master Walter of The Hunch-

back, played in America for the first time at the

Arch Theatre, Philadelphia in 1832. Visited Eng-

land professionally in 1847. His repertoire con-

sisted of Shakesperian characters, Massaniello,

Wizard of the Wave, leading parts in "Black Eyed

Susan" and similar parts. His last appearance

was at Sanford's Opera House, Philadelphia, in

1856, appearing in the third act of Othello. He

died the same year.

 

Ainsley Scott, Actor, was bass soloist in church

choir. With Bryant and San Francisco Minstrels.

He was also with Madame Ristori in Australia,

playing Macbeth to her Lady Macbeth.

 

Cyril Scott, Actor, born in Ireland, 1866. Came

to the United States at an early age. Made his

debut in "The Girl I Love"; with Mrs. Fiske,

Richard Mansfield, E. H. Sothern. He has ap-

peared in musical comedy and in many produc-

tions, including, "The Lottery Man," "The Prince

Chap," "A Gentleman of Leisure."

 

A distinguished soldier, Hugh Lenox Scott, was

born at Danville, Kentucky, 22nd September 1853.

He graduated at West Point Military Academy,

June 1876, and was appointed second Lieutenant,

9th United States Cavalry. He was promoted first

Lieutenant of 7th Cavalry on June 28th 1878;

to Captain on January 24th 1895; to Major on

May 12th 1898; to Lieutenant-Colonel on August

17th 1899. Colonel Scott served in the Sioux Ex-

pedition of 1876, the Nez Perce Expedition, 1877,

 

 

 

96 History of the Scott Family

 

and the Cheyenne Expedition of 1878. He was

Adjutant-General of the 2nd and 3rd Divisions of

the 1st Army Corps from May 1898 to February

1899, of the Department of Havana from March

1899 to May 1900, and of the Division of Cuba,

until November of the last named year. He acted

as Governor-General of Cuba until 1902. Served

from 1903 to 1906 as Governor, and Commander

of the troops in the Sulu Archipelago, Philippine

Islands; conquered and pacified the inhabitants

and abolished slavery and the slave trade. He

was appointed Superintendant of the United States

Military Academy at West Point, 1st September

1906, which office he retained until 1910. In

command of the 3rd Cavalry, Fort Sam Houston,

1912 and of 2nd Cavalry Brigade, Mexican Border,

1913. Appointed Chief of Staff, United States

Army, November 17th 1914 and Major-General,

1915. In France, 1917, to study operations on

the Western Front and the same year was member

of the American Commission to Russia. Was In

command at Camp Dix until retirement.

 

Mention may be made of two other items of in-

terest connected with the name of Scott in America.

Blanche Scott of Rochester was one of the first

women to fly an aeroplane, and for thirty-three

years a member of the family, Captain James G.

Scott, was keeper of the Montauk Point Light.

 

 

 

 

CHAPTER VII.

 

URNING our attention once more to the

"old country," we find that Scott is now

the family name of four peers in Great

Britain and Ireland; two of whom take

descent from the old Border Scotts.

 

The Duke of Buccleuch, John Charles Montagu-

Douglas-Scott was born March 30th 1864 and suc-

ceeded to the title in 1914. He is the seventh

Duke of Buccleuch and ninth Duke of Queens-

berry. Is also Marquess of Dumfriesshire, Earl of

Drumlanrig and Sanquhar, Earl of Buccleuch, Vis-

count Nith, Thorthorwald and Ross, Baron Doug-

las of Kinmont, Middlebie and Dornoch, Baron

Scott of Buccleuch, Baron Whitchester and Eskdaill,

Baron Scott of Tynedale and Earl of Doncaster.

He sits in the House of Lords under the last

named title. The estates of three different families

have become united in the family of Scott of

Buccleuch, viz., those of the family of Scott, Dukes

of Buccleuch; of Douglas, Dukes of Queensberry

and Montagu, Dukes of Montagu. His eldest son

and heir is Walter John, Earl of Dalkeith, born

1894, in the Grenadier Guards and an Aide de

Camp on Personal Staff. His second son, William

Walter, is in the Hussars and received the Mili-

tary Cross during the European War.

 

Baron Polwarth is also of a Border Scott family,

the title being derived from Hugh Scott, great

grandson of Walter Scott of Highchester, who was

 

97

 

 

 

98 History of the Scott Family

 

Earl of Tarras and husband of Mary, who became

Countess of Buccleuch in 1651. On her death,

Walter Scott married again and from this second

marriage the present line is descended. The Barony

of Polwarth came into the Scott family when Hugh

Hume, third Earl of Marchmont, Viscount Blason-

berry and Baron Polwarth died in 1793, the Earl-

dom, Viscounty and Barony created 1697 becoming

extinct, and the Barony of Polwarth created 1690

devolved upon his grandson, the said Hugh Scott,

who became third Baron. The fifth Baron, the

late Henry Francis Scott, assumed the additional

family name of Hepburne; by the failure of the

male line of Sir Robert Scott of Murthockstone,

the chieftainship of all the Scotts in Scotland de-

volved upon him.

 

The Earl of Clonmell, Rupert Charles Scott,

seventh Earl, was born 10th November 1877. He

succeeded to the title 1898. Descended from John

Scott, successively Solicitor-General, Attorney-Gen-

eral, Prime Sergeant and Chief Justice of the

Kings Bench in Ireland; created Earl of Clonmell

in 1793.

 

The Earl of Eldon, John Scott was born 8th

November 1845 and succeeded to the title 1898,

being the third Earl. The title was granted to

John Scott, Earl of Eldon, Lord High Chancellor

of England, an account of whom is contained in

Chapter III. The eldest son and heir is the Hon.

Ernest Stowell Scott, M.V.O.; C.M.G.

 

Many of the old Scottish branches of the family

have become extinct and newer lines of descent

arisen. But of the old branches, some still remain.

 

Of the Scotts of Ancrum, Sir William Monteath

 

 

 

History of the Scott Family 99

 

Scott, seventh and last Baronet, died in 1902. He

left one daughter, Constance Emily.

 

Sir Francis Montagu Sibbald Scott, fifth Baronet,

is the present representative of the branch of

Scott of Dunninald, Forfarshire.

 

The family of Scott of Gala is represented by

John Henry Francis Kinnaird Scott of Gala, County

of Selkirk, born 1859. As mentioned in a pre-

ceding chapter, this branch is descended from

Hugh, son of Sir Walter Scott of Harden ("Auld

Wat").

 

The head of the Scotts of Melby, Robert Thomas

Scott of Melby, Shetland is descended from the

second son of the celebrated Sir John Scott of

Scotstarvet, Director of the Chancery.

 

Walter Scott of Raeburn and Lessuden is de-

scended from Walter Scott of Raeburn, third son

of Sir William Scott, the son of "Auld Wat" of

Harden.

 

The Scotts of Malleny are represented by Car-

teret Cunningham Scott of Malleny. As previously

mentioned, this family is a branch of the house

of Buccleuch.

 

Anna Katherine Scott of Brotherton succeeded

her father in 1897. The Scotts of Brotherton

branched from the Scotts of Logic.

 

The Scotts of Synton are not now represented

in the direct male line of descent. John Scott of

Synton who died in 1796, a minor and unmarried,

was succeeded by his eldest sister, Catherine Scott,

who married John Corse of Bughtrig, when he

assumed the name and arms of Scott of Synton in

addition to his own. The family of Corse-Scott

of Synton is now represented by John Corse-Scott

 

 

 

100 History of the Scott Family

 

of Synton in the County of Selkirk and Satchells

 

in the County of Roxburgh.

 

The Scotts of Wauchope are descended from

Walter Scott, the laird of Buccleuch, who was

slain in the streets of Edinburgh, in 1552, in the

fued with the Kerrs of Cessford, through his nat-

ural son Walter Scott of Goudilands. This Walter

Scott is described as a man of good points and

great bravery, and at the raid of Reidswyre, 1575,

the laird of Buccleuch being very young, this

Walter Scott led the clan. He was also at the

release of Kinmont Willie. The name is now Mc-

Millan-Scott, the additional surname having been

assumed in 1816, in accordance with the conditions

of the entail of the then Scott of Wauchope's ma-

ternal grandfather's estate.

 

The family of Constable-Maxwell-Scott of Ab-

botsford is now representative of the family of

Sir Walter Scott, the illustrious poet and novelist,

whose heir, Sir Walter Scott the second Baronet,

died without issue, being succeeded by his nephew,

Walter Scott Lockhart Scott who died unmarried,

and was succeeded by his sister Charlotte Harriet

Jane Hope-Scott, from whom the present family is

descended.

 

Among branches of the family in England are:

The Scotts of Betton, represented by George

John Scott, of Betton Strange, Shropshire. His

mother, Sydney Louisa Scott, only surviving

daughter of George Jonathan Scott, married, in

1868, Major William Edington Stuart, late 15th

Hussars. By Royal License the family retained the

name and arms of Scott. She was descended from

Richard Scott of Scots Halls, born 1544, who settled

in Shropshire.

 

 

 

History of the Scott Family 101

 

Sir Douglas Edward Scott, seventh Baronet, of

Great Barr, Staffordshire, is descended from John

Scott, who settled in Shropshire about 1650.

 

The Scotts of Lytchett Manor, Dorsetshire, are

represented by Sir Samuel Edward Scott, sixth

Baronet.

 

Archibald Edward Scott is the present repre-

sentative of the family of Rotherfield Park in the

County of Hants.

 

Three Baronets of later creation are :

 

Sir John Scott, 2nd Baronet of Beauclerc, Bywell

St. Andrews, Northumberland.

 

Sir Samuel Haslam Scott, 2nd Baronet, of Yews,

Windermere, Westmoreland.

 

And the distinguished Admiral, Sir Percy More-

ton Scott, K.C.B.; K.C.V.O.; LL.D.; first Baronet

of Witley, Surrey, born 10th July 1853. He

was educated at University College, London, and

the Royal Naval College. Entered the Royal Navy

in 1866 ; served Ashantee War, 1873-1874 (medal) ;

Congo Expedition, 1875 (despatches, promoted) ;

Egyptian War, 1882 (despatches, medal, bronze

star, fourth class Medjidie), South African War,

1899-1900, when he devised special mounting for

the naval gun used for defense and relief of Lady-

smith (despatches, C.B.), China, 1900 (C.V.O.).

Sir Percy Scott invented the system of night sig-

nalling now used in the Royal Navy. Member

of the Ordnance Committee; was in command of

Gunners School; Naval Aide de Camp to His Ma-

jesty; Inspector of Naval Target Practice, 1905-

1907; in command of First Cruiser Squadron,

1908-1909; special service at the Admiralty, 1914;

later in charge of gunnery defences of London.

 

 

 

102 History of the Scott Family

 

Several members of the family have received the

honor of knighthood.

 

The Rt. Hon. Sir Charles Stewart Scott was

knighted in 1896, K.C.M.G.; G.C.M.G., 1899; G.C.B.

1899 and appointed of the Privy Council 1898. He

was born in Ireland, 1838 and entered the diplo-

matic service 1858. Attache, Secretary and Charge

d'Affaires at different Legations and Embassies.

Minister to Swiss Confederation; Envoy Extraor-

dinary, Copenhagen; Ambassador to the Court of

Russia.

 

Major-General Sir Arthur Binny Scott, K.C.B.,

born 1862. Served in the South African and

European Wars.

 

Major-General Sir Charles Henry Scott, K.C.B.,

Colonel Commandant R.A. ; member of the Council

of the Governor-General of India 1905-1909.

 

Sir James George Scott, K.C.I.E., 1901. Born

Dairsie, Fifeshire, 1851. Joined Burma Commis-

sion in 1886; received thanks of Commander-m-

Chief and Governor-General in Council, 1888 ; mem-

ber of several boundary commissions. Author,

"The Burman, His Life and Notions"; "France

and Tongking" and other works on Burma.

 

Sir Buchanan Scott, K.C.I.E., 1904; Indian ap-

pointments; Senior Master of the Mint, Calcutta,

1897-1904.

 

Sir James Scott, Kt., created 1911 ; born Broughty

Ferry, 1838. Engineer.

 

Sir Benjamin Scott, Kt., created, 1904; several

times Mayor of Carlisle.

 

Sir John Harley Scott, Kt., created 1892; High

Sheriff, Mayor and Alderman of Cork.

 

Others bearing the name who have been knighted

 

 

 

History of the Scott Family 103

 

are referred to among the following notable Scotts

of England, Scotland, Ireland, Canada and other

parts of the British Empire.

 

Alexander Scott, the old Scottish poet, wrote be-

tween 1545 and 1568. Some of his "sweit tunged"

poems are "Ane New Yeir Gift to Queen Mary

quhen scho came first Hame"; "To Luve Un-

luvit"; "Ladies, be war," and "Lo, quhat it is to

Lufe."

 

A father and two sons, distinguished figures

in the art of the early nineteenth century, follow.

 

Robert Scott, the father, was born at Lanark

in 1777. Engraver. His best work was in land-

scape, a series of twenty views of "Scenery of

Edinburgh and Midlothian" being his last pro-

duction.

 

David Scott, his elder son, Scottish Historical

Artist, was born in Parliament Stairs, Edinburgh,

1806. Among his best known works are, the huge

picture "Lot and His Daughters"; "The Hopes

of Early Genius Dispelled by Death" exhibited at

the Scottish Academy; "The Death of Sappho";

"Wallace Defending Scotland"; and the great pic-

ture, "Vasco da Gama, the Discoverer of India, En-

countering the Spirit of the Storm as He Passes

the Cape of Good Hope." This picture is now in

the Trinity House at Leith. "The Vintager" and

"Ariel and Caliban" are in the National Gallery at

Edinburgh. He last picture was "Hope Passing

Over the Sky of Adversity."

 

William Bell Scott, the younger son, Poet and

Painter, was born in 1811 at St. Leonards, Edin-

burgh. His pictures included "The Old English

Ballad Singer" ; "The Jester." He exhibited at the

 

 

 

104 History of the Scott Family

 

Royal Academy. His writings were very numerous

and included poems and art memoirs.

 

Andrew Scott, Scottish Poet, was born 1757.

He was at first a cowherd, later serving with his

Regiment in the American War of Independence.

He was a prisoner of war on Long Island, but

returned to Scotland in 1784. In 1811 issued

"Poems, Chiefly in the Scottish Dialect" and two

other volumes in 1821 and 1826.

 

Lady John Douglas Scott, born 1810, was a com-

poser of Scottish songs. Her principal claim to

remembrance, musically, is her composition of the

song "Annie Laurie," first published in 1838. She

is sometimes credited with being the composer, or

adapter, of "The Banks of Loch Lomond."

 

General Thomas Scott, born 1745, was the son

of John Scott of Malleny. He served in Hesse

and in America during two campaigns under Gen-

eral Burgoyne. Later served in the Netherlands,

Cape of Good Hope, and against Tipu Sultan,

being present at the siege of Seringapatam.

 

Admiral Sir James Scott, born 1790, a Cadet of

the Scotts of Raeburn, saw much service against

the French, in the War of 1812, in the West Indies

and China.

 

John Scott, Engraver, born 1774. His two mas-

terpieces are "Breaking Cover," after Reinagle

and the "Death of the Fox," after Gilpin.

 

Samuel Scott, Artist, and friend of Hogarth.

His picture "A View of the Tower of London"

was exhibited at the Royal Academy and his

portrait by Hudson and four of his pictures are

in the National Gallery.

 

Admiral, Lord Charles Scott was present, as a

 

 

 

History of the Scott Family 105

 

Midshipman, in the Black Sea during the Russian

War. He was officer in command of the "Bac-

chante" during the cruise of King George and

his brother, the late Duke of Clarence. Brother

of the sixth Duke of Buccleuch.

 

Benjamin Scott, born 1814, was Chamberlain of

the City of London. It was through his wonder-

ful knowledge of finance that the Corporation of

London lost not a penny of its outstanding loans,

amounting to seven hundred thousand pounds, on

Black Friday 1866.

 

Sir George Gilbert Scott, R.A., the celebrated

Architect, was born 1811. One of his earlier works

was the restoration of Chesterfield Church. He

won European reputation by winning the open

competition for the Church of St. Nicholas at

Hamburg. He restored several cathedrals and was

architect of the addition to Exeter College, Ox-

ford. In 1849 he was engaged in the restoration

of Westminster Abbey. Was architect of the India,

Home and Colonial Offices. In 1864, Scott was

engaged in carrying out the Albert Memorial, and

later the re-arrangement of Wolsey's Chapel at

Windsor Castle.

 

Giles Gilbert Scott, F.R.I.B.A.; Architect, grand-

son of the above, was born 1880. Among his prin-

cipal works are, Liverpool Cathedral; Church of

the Annunciation, Bournemouth; and restoration

of Chester Cathedral.

 

Robert Scott, Lexicographer, born 1811, was

educated at Shrewsbury School and Christ Church,

Oxford. He was Dean of Rochester and Master

of Balliol. As a Greek scholar he has had few

equals. His life's work was his collaboration with

 

 

 

106 History of the Scott Family

 

Dean Liddell in the Greek Lexicon which bears

their names.

 

Edward John Long Scott, Librarian, M.A.;

D. Litt Oxon; was born 1840. Keeper of MSS.

and Egerton Librarian, British Museum, and

Keeper of Muniments, Westminster Abbey.

 

Rev. Charles Anderson Scott, D.D., born 1859.

Dunn Professor of New Testament Theology, Col-

lege of the Presbyterian Church of England. Au-

thor, "The Book of the Revelation"; "Evangelical

Doctrine, Bible Truth"; "Ulfilas, Apostle of the

Goths."

 

Professor William A. Scott; A.R.H.A. ; A.R.I.B.A. ;

M.S.A.; F.R.I. A.I.; Professor of Architecture, Na-

tional University of Ireland. Among other works

he designed the Cathedral for Galway.

 

Hon. Mrs. Maxwell (Mary Monica) Scott, great-

granddaughter of Sir Walter Scott. Author of

"The Tragedy of Fotheringay" ; "Abbotsford and

Its Treasures"; "Joan of Arc"; "St. Francis de

Sales and His Friends."

 

Margaret Scott, born 1841, Author, "Every Inch

a Soldier"; "Under Orders"; "Princes in India."

 

Lady Kathleen Scott, Sculptor, made several pub-

lic monuments and portraits. Created Lady Scott

in recognition of the work of her husband, the

late Captain Robert Falcon Scott, Explorer, men-

tioned below.

 

Tom Scott, R.S.A., Water Color Painter, born

at Selkirk, 12th October 1854. Among his well

known pictures are "The Otter Hunt"; "Meet of

Foxhounds at Riddell"; "Mosstroopers Returning

from a Raid"; "St. Mary's Loch"; "A Hayfield in

Ettrick"; and "Auld Wat o' Harden."

 

 

 

History of the Scott Family 107

 

Michael Scott, Author of "Tom Cringle's Log";

"The Cruise of the Midge" and other stories.

 

Clement Scott, Author, Dramatist, Critic and

Song Writer.

 

Georges Scott, Artist of the painting of King

George V, posed for at Buckingham Palace and

hung in the Paris Salon.

 

William Robert Scott, M.A.; D. Phil.; Litt. D.;

Hon. LL.D. (St. Andrews). Fellow of the British

Academy and Adam Smith Professor of Political

Economy in the University of Glasgow.

 

Dunkinfield Henry Scott, Botanist, M.A.; LL.D.;

D.Sc.; Ph.D.; Foreign Secretary of the Royal So-

ciety. Professor of Botany. Hon. Keeper of the

Jodrell Laboratory, Royal Gardens, Kew, 1892-1906.

Author of many botanical works.

 

Robert Falcon Scott, R.N. ; C.V.O., Antarctic Ex-

plorer. Commander of the National Antarctic Ex-

pedition, 1900-1904; F.R.G.S.; Commander of the

British Antarctic Expedition, 1910. Born at Devon-

port, 1868. Entered the Royal Navy 1882, Com-

mander, 1900, Captain, 1904. Gold medals, Royal

Geographical Society, Royal Scottish Geographical

Society, American, Swedish, Danish, Philadelphia

and Antwerp Geographical Societies. Author of

"The Voyage of the Discovery."

 

Two brothers, well known on the English Turf,

John and William Scott were born respectively in

1794 and 1797. John was a Trainer and William

a Jockey. John trained six Derby winners and

eight Oaks winners. William rode the winner of

the Derby four times, the winner of the Oaks

three times, and the winner of the St. Leger nine

times.

 

 

 

108 History of the Scott Family

 

Like many other families from the "Land o'

Cakes," the Scotts have taken a prominent part

in the growth and history of the Dominion of

Canada, and other parts of the British Empire.

 

Hugh Erskine Scott, born Dundee, Scotland,

came to Canada and was appointed Manager of

the Quebec-Montreal Steamship Line. In connec-

tion with the Rebellion of 1837, he received the

public thanks of the Governor-General, Sir John

Colborne, for arrangements made in relation to

the transportation of troops, after the close of

navigation.

 

James Guthrie Scott, son of the above, takes

descent on the maternal side from the Notary

Leblanc, spoken of in Longfellow's "Evangeline."

Born at Quebec in 1847, he built the Quebec &

Lake St. John and Great Northern Railways, being

General Manager of the latter road. Also, one

of the promoters of the Grand Trunk Pacific Rail-

way, Quebec & James Bay Railway Co. and the

Quebec Transport Co. Served during the Fenian

Raid, medal and two clasps. President, Quebec

Board of Trade.

 

Hon. David Lynch Scott, Judge of Supreme

Court, was born 21st August 1845. Barrister,

1870; Mayor of Regina, 1883; K.C., 1885; raised

to Bench, N.W.T., 1894.

 

Hon. Walter Scott, born London, Middlesex, On-

tario, 1867. Premier of the Province of Saskatche-

wan, 1905-1916. President of Council and Min-

ister of Education.

 

Duncan Campbell Scott, born 1862. Deputy

Superintendent-General of Indian Affairs, Hon. Sec-

retary Royal Society of Canada. Author, "The

 

 

 

History of the Scott Family 109

 

Magic House" (poems) ; "Labor and the Angels"

(poems) ; "The Life of Simcoe"; "In the Village of

Viger" and numerous stories and poems.

 

Rev. Frederick George Scott, C.M.G., 1916; M.A.;

D.C.L., born, Montreal, 1861. Rector of St. Mat-

thews, Quebec; Canon of Quebec Cathedral. Senior

Chaplain 1st Canadian B.E.F. (despatches, C.M.G.).

Sanford Gold Medal, Royal Canadian Humane So-

ciety. Author, "Soul's Quest" and other poems;

"Elton Haglewood"; "The Key of Life"; "The

Crown of Empire" and other poems written at

the front.

 

Lieutenant-Colonel, His Honor, James Henderson

Scott, Judge of the County Court of Lanark, 1914;

born Simcoe, Ontario, 1858. Called to the Bar,

1880; K.C., 1908; Lieutenant-Colonel commanding

32nd Regiment, 1891-1899. Long Service Decora-

tion.

 

Hon. Sir Richard William Scott, Statesman.

 

Darcy Scott, born Hull Township, Ottawa County,

Quebec, 1872. Called to the Ottawa Bar, 1895;

Assistant Chief Commissioner, Board of Railway

Commissioners, 1908.

 

Frank Scott, born Montreal, 1862. Vice-Presi-

dent and Treasurer, Grand Trunk Railway.

 

Thomas Smythe Scott, B.A., B.Sc.C.E.; born

1871. Professor of Railways and Railway Engi-

neering, Queens University.

 

Frank Stewart Scott, M.P.; born Gait, 1879.

Elected to House of Commons for South Water-

loo, 1915.

 

Charles Summer Scott, F.C.A.; born England.

Came to Canada, 1877. President, Banking &

Loan Company, Hamilton.

 

 

 

110 History of the Scott Family

 

Sir Robert Townley Scott, Kt, I.S.O.; Secretary,

Postmaster-General's Department and Permanent

Head of the Commonwealth of Australia Telegraph

Service, 1901; born 1841 and went to Australia,

1848.

 

John Halliday Scott, M.D.; M.R.C.S., Professor

of Anatomy, Otago University, Australia; Dean of

the Faculty of Medicine.

 

Ernest Scott, Professor of History, University

of Melbourne, Australia.

 

Robert Julian Scott, Professor in Charge, School

of Engineering, Canterbury College, New Zealand.

Chairman, Commission Government Workshops;

Chairman, Munitions Committee for New Zealand.

 

Colonel Robert George Scott, V.C. ; Cape Colonial

Forces, South Africa. Served during Gaika, Galeka

and Zulu Wars (V.C.) and in 1899-1901 in com-

mand of Scott's Railway Guards during South

African War. (Despatches, Queen's Medal, 3 clasps,

King's Medal, 2 clasps, D.S.O.).

 

Colonel John Scott, born 1844 at Inverness, Scot-

land. Arrived in South Africa, 1878. Served in

Gaika, Galeka and Zulu Wars, medals and clasps.

Present as Guardsman at marriage of King Edward

VII, 1863, and King George's marriage, 1893.

 

Herbert Septimus Scott, Secretary and Examiner,

Transvaal Education Department.

 

Sir Basil Scott, Kt., born 1859; called to the

Bar, 1883; admitted Advocate of High Court of

Bombay, 1885; Chief Justice of High Court of

Bombay, 1908.

 

Benjamin Charles George Scott, Consul-General,

Canton, 1900-1902; attended Li Hung Chang on

visit to England, 1896.

 

 

 

History of the Scott Family 111

 

James Scott, I.S.O., 1905; Consul-General, Can-

ton, 1902-1906.

 

James Scott, C.I.E., 1912; Assistant Private Sec-

retary to Viceroy of India.

 

John Healey Scott; Chief Magistrate, East Gri

qualand. Served in Galeka War and Northern